www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Governor General of Canada / Gouverneur général du Canadaa
Print

 


 

 

City of Québec’s 400th Anniversary

Their Excellencies the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean, Governor General of Canada, and Mr. Jean-Daniel LafondTheir Excellencies the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean, Governor General of Canada, and Mr. Jean-Daniel Lafond are pleased to announce the participation of the Residence of the Governor General at the Citadelle of Québec during the celebrations marking the 400th anniversary of the City of Québec in 2008.

Since November 2005, Mr. Lafond has been working closely with the Société du 400e de Québec, as well as with the French organizing committee for the 400th anniversary, and the cities of La Rochelle and Rochefort and the Agglomération Royan Atlantique in France. He proposed a program of activities to be held at the Residence of the Governor General at the Citadelle during the celebrations.

Activities and exhibits celebrating 400 years of history

Cap-aux-Diamants Redoubt

Cap-aux-Diamants RedoubtBuilt between 1693 and 1694, the Cap-aux-Diamants Redoubt is one of the rare remnants of Quebec’s earliest fortifications and one of Canada’s oldest military buildings.  Located a stone throw away from the Residence of the Governor General at the Citadelle, this heritage building has recently been renovated by the Government of Canada and transformed into a permanent exhibit space.

Exhibit inside the Cap-aux-Diamants Redoubt

Inside the Cap-aux-Diamants Redoubt
Photo: Sgt Eric Jolin, Rideau Hall

The exhibit tells the remarkable story of this defensive structure. It will focus on crucial moments chosen from 400 years of political and military history and trace the origins of Canada’s oldest public office, that of the governor general, using illustrations, anecdotes and an audio visual presentation.

Le Grand Livre de Champlain

Le Grand Livre de ChamplainAt the heart of this exhibit is Le Grand Livre de Champlain, a major work of art that evokes the voyages of the explorer to "New France, said Canada". Bringing his notes, maps and etchings under one cover, the book was drawn and handwritten by contemporary artists. It is made of canvas on wood and set in a metal binding, and weighs 300 kilograms. Visitors will be able to turn by themselves the 2.2 metres high and 1.5 metres wide pages. On May 8, 2008, the cities of La Rochelle, Rochefort and the Agglomération Royan Atlantique will present this masterful original work to their Excellencies during their official visit to France.

Arrival of the Grand Livre de ChamplainWatch the video of the arrival of the Grand Livre de Champlain at the Cap-aux-Diamants Redoubt.

Exhibit dates: June to October 2008

Exhibits at the Residence of
the Governor General at the Citadelle of Québec

The Residence of the Governor General at the CitadelleSince 1872, the Residence of the Governor General at the Citadelle has been the official residence of governors general of Canada visiting Québec.  Towering above the Saint Lawrence river, this splendid heritage building will host a series of temporary exhibits during the summer.

Médaille de la Légion d’honneur de la France
Photo: Musée national de la légion d’honneur et des ordres de chevalerie
The City of Québec Told Through Honours

An exhibit showcasing Canadian, French and British honours will highlight the extraordinary lives of the men and women who built this city.

Exhibit dates: June to October 2008

The Peter Winkworth Collection of Canadiana: Early Impressions of Québec

Les chutes Montmorency
Detail of Les chutes Montmorency, 1793 — R9266-3456

Born in Québec and settled in Great Britain, Peter Winkworth amassed a considerable number of prints, watercolours, drawings, lithographs, etchings and oil paintings over a 45-year period. This exhibit will include an exceptional collection of works illustrating Québec’s history. The Peter Winkworth Collection has been acquired by Library and Archives Canada.

Exhibit dates: July and August 2008

Meetings and discussions on the francophone culture

Art Matters in Bordeaux, France – May 9, 2008

During Their Excellencies official visit to France, Mr. Lafond hosted an Arts Matters forum in Bordeaux, on May 9.  The following question was discussed "The francophonies : un monde de mobilité et de connexions peut-il favoriser équitablement la circulation des idées et des créateurs? " (The Francophonies: Can this mobile and interconnected world promote the fair circulation of ideas and creators?) Taking part in the event were artists involved in Cap sur les ports francophones (Bordeaux) and other guests.

The Art Matters forums, were initiated by His Excellency Jean-Daniel Lafond, to encourage dialogue and to provide a space for reflection on the creative process and how it is received by society. Over 20 Art Matters forums have already been held in Canada and abroad over the past two years.

Cap sur les ports francophones, of which the Governor General is honorary patron, is a series of encounters filled with artistic emotions and intellectual discussions organized by the Agence Universitaire de La Francophonie and Escales Improbables. Travelling from country to country and port to port (Bordeaux, France; Saint-Louis, Senegal; Jacmel, Haiti, Fort de France Martinique-France; Québec, Canada), artists, philosophers and academics will share their thoughts on the journey, richness and cultural exchanges. Their Excellencies will greet the team when they arrive in the City of Québec on June 3, 2008.

Art Matters in Québec – June 4, 2008

Their Excellencies will host an Art Matters forum at the Residence of the Governor General at the Citadelle of Québec, on June 4, 2008. This forum will bring together the Cap sur les ports francophones team, representatives from the participating countries, and their Canadian Francophone and Francophile counterparts. Participants will discuss the theme: Le français, terre d’accueil à la création (The French language: a homeland for the creative process.)

Café philosophique – June 4, 2008

A philosophy café with the participants of Cap sur les ports francophones will follow the Art Matters forum. The public will be invited to the Residence of the Governor General at the Citadelle for a discussion on Les francophonies comme laboratoire de la diversité culturelle et du dialogue entre les civilisations (Les Francophonies as a laboratory for cultural diversity and dialogue among civilizations).

The exhibits and activities held at the Residence of the Governor General at the Citadelle of Québec are made possible through the collaboration of the cities of La Rochelle and Rochefort and L’Agglomération Royan Atlantique in France, the Société du 400e, the City of Québec, Public Works and Government Services Canada, the Royal 22e Régiment Museum, Parks Canada,  and Library and Archives Canada.
Updated: 2019-03-28
Important Notices
top of page
top of page

www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Gouverneur général du Canada / Governor General of Canada
Imprimer

 


 

 

400e anniversaire de Qu�bec

Leurs Excellences la très honorable Michaëlle Jean, gouverneure générale du Canada, et monsieur Jean-Daniel LafondÀ l’occasion du 400e anniversaire de la fondation de la ville de Québec, la Résidence officielle du gouverneur général à la Citadelle de Québec, la seconde résidence officielle, sera le théâtre d’activités et de célébrations.

Depuis novembre 2005, monsieur Lafond travaille en étroite collaboration avec la Société du 400e de Québec, ainsi qu’avec le Comité d’organisation français du 400e anniversaire de la ville de Québec et les villes de La Rochelle et Rochefort et l’Agglomération Royan Atlantique en France. Il a en effet proposé une programmation à la Résidence officielle du gouverneur général à la Citadelle dans le cadre de ces célébrations.

Activités et expositions pour souligner 400 ans d’histoire

La Redoute du Cap-aux-Diamants

La Redoute de Cap-aux-DiamantsConstruite entre 1693 et 1694, la Redoute du Cap-aux-Diamants est l’un des rares vestiges des premières fortifications de Québec et l’un des plus anciens bâtiments militaires au Canada. Situé à quelques pas de la Résidence officielle du gouverneur général, ce bâtiment patrimonial a été récemment remis en état par le gouvernement du Canada pour être transformé de façon permanente en un lieu d’exposition.

Exposition à l’intérieur de la redoute du Cap-aux-Diamants

L’intérieur de la redoute du Cap-aux-Diamants
Photo: Sgt Eric Jolin, Rideau Hall

L’exposition à la Redoute du Cap-aux-Diamants fera revivre aux visiteurs l’histoire remarquable de cet ouvrage défensif. Celle-ci permettra, par l’entremise d’iconographies, d’anecdotes et d’une présentation audiovisuelle, de retracer des moments d’histoire politique et militaire et de remonter aux origines de la plus ancienne fonction publique au pays, celle de gouverneur général.

Le Grand Livre de Champlain

Le Grand Livre de ChamplainAu cœur même de cette exposition, on retrouvera Le Grand Livre de Champlain, une œuvre magistrale qui évoque les voyages de Samuel de Champlain en Nouvelle-France. Réalisé à partir de notes, des gravures et des cartes de l’explorateur, Le Grand Livre évoque les « Voyages de la Nouvelle-France dicte Canada ». Les pages du livre, réalisées en bois toilé et articulées sur une reliure de métal, ont été dessinées et calligraphiées à la main par des artistes contemporains. Les visiteurs pourront feuilleter les pages eux-mêmes dont la dimension approximative est de 2,20 mètres de haut sur un 1,50 mètre de large. Le livre pèse 300 kilogrammes. Cette œuvre d’art est un don des villes de La Rochelle, Rochefort et de l’Agglomération Royan Atlantique au peuple canadien et sera remise à Leurs Excellences, le 8 mai 2008, à La Rochelle, durant leur visite officielle en France.

Arrivée du Grand Livre de ChamplainVisionnez la vidéo de l'arrivée du Grand Livre de Champlain à la Redoute du Cap-aux-Diamants.

Dates d’ouverture : juin à octobre 2008

Expositions dans la résidence du gouverneur général du Canada à la Citadelle de Québec

La Résidence du gouverneur général à la CitadelleLa Résidence du gouverneur général à la Citadelle sert de résidence officielle aux gouverneurs généraux du Canada de passage à Québec, et ce, depuis 1872. Surplombant le fleuve Saint-Laurent, ce splendide bâtiment patrimonial accueillera des expositions temporaires au cours de la saison estivale.

Médaille de la Légion d’honneur de la France
Photo : Musée national de la légion d’honneur et des ordres de chevalerie
La ville de Québec : Une histoire d’honneur

Une exposition sur les distinctions honorifiques canadiennes, françaises et britanniques d’hier et d’aujourd’hui illustrera le parcours exceptionnel d’hommes et de femmes qui ont construit cette ville.

Dates d’ouverture : juin à octobre 2008

La collection Peter Winkworth d’œuvres canadiennes : Regards sur le Québec d’alors

Les chutes Montmorency
Détail de Les chutes Montmorency,
1793 — R9266-3456

Né au Québec et établi en Grande-Bretagne, Peter Winkworth a amassé un nombre considérable d’estampes, d’aquarelles, de dessins, de lithographies, de gravures et de peintures à l’huile. Cette collection, qu’il a bâtie sur une période d’environ 45 ans, rassemble une sélection d’œuvres exceptionnelles qui illustrent l’histoire du Québec. La collection Peter Winkworth a été acquise par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

Dates d’ouverture : juillet et août 2008

Rencontres et discussions sur la francophonie

Point des arts à Bordeaux, France – le 9 mai 2008

Dans le cadre de la visite officielle en France de Leurs Excellences, monsieur Lafond a tenu un Point des arts à Bordeaux, le 9 mai dernier. La discussion a eu pour thème Les francophonies : un monde de mobilité et de connexions peut-il favoriser équitablement la circulation des idées et des créateurs? Des artistes participant à Cap sur les ports francophones (Bordeaux) et d’autres invités ont pris part à cette discussion.

Le Point des arts, une initiative de Son Excellence Jean-Daniel Lafond, vise à instaurer le dialogue et à construire un espace de réflexion, tant sur la création que sur sa réception par la société. Plus de 20 forums ont déjà eu lieu partout au Canada et à l’étranger au cours des deux dernières années.

Cap sur les ports francophones se veut une série de rencontres jalonnées d’émotions artistiques et d’échanges intellectuels organisées par l’Agence universitaire de la Francophonie et les Escales improbables, sous la présidence d’honneur de la gouverneure générale. D’un pays à l’autre et de port en port (Bordeaux, France; Saint-Louis, Sénégal; Jacmel, Haïti; Fort de France Martinique-France; Québec, Canada) des artistes, des philosophes et des universitaires échangeront leurs points de vue sur le voyage, la richesse et les échanges culturels. Leurs Excellences accueilleront l’équipe à son arrivée à Québec le 3 juin. 

Point des arts à Québec – le 4 juin 2008

Leurs Excellences tiendront un Point des arts à la Résidence du gouverneur général à la Citadelle le 4 juin. Ce forum réunira l’équipe du Cap sur les ports francophones, les représentants des pays participants, ainsi que leurs homologues francophones et francophiles canadiens. Les participants discuteront du thème : Le français, terre d’accueil de la création.

Café philosophique – le 4 juin 2008

Un café philosophique avec les participants du Cap sur les ports francophones suivra le Point des arts. Le public sera invité à la Résidence du gouverneur général à la Citadelle pour discuter du thème : Les francophonies comme laboratoire de la diversité culturelle et du dialogue entre les civilisations.

Les expositions et les activités présentées à la Résidence du gouverneur général à la Citadelle de Québec sont rendues possibles grâce à la collaboration des villes de La Rochelle et de Rochefort et de l’Agglomération Royan Atlantique en France, la Société du 400e, la Ville de Québec, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, le Musée du Royal 22e Régiment, Défense nationale, Parcs Canada et Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.
Mise à jour : 2019-03-28
Avis importants
haut de la page
haut de la page