www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Governor General of Canada / Gouverneur général du Canadaa
Print

 


 

 

History

An official residence in the heart of the old capital

For nearly 250 years, Quebec City was the political capital and place of residence of the colony's governors. After Confederation, in 1867, Rideau Hall in Ottawa became the new official residence of the Governor General of Canada.

In 1872, Lord Dufferin decided to occupy quarters at the Citadelle of Québec. In so doing, he re-established the tradition of a residence for the Governor General in Quebec City, which dated back to the beginning of New France. Ever since, all Governors General have spent part of each year there in the course of their official duties.

Steeped in 300 years of military history, the Citadelle is part of the historic district of Québec, one of UNESCO's World Heritage Sites. Built between 1820 and 1831, it was occupied by the British until 1871, when it was transferred to the Canadian government. Since 1920, it also serves as the home of the Royal 22e Régiment.

High atop Cap-Diamant

When Lord Dufferin moved in, the residence was simple and modest. Over the years, additions were made to the original building (1831) including a ballroom and a sunroom.

In February 1976, a fire destroyed the east wing of the residence. The Governor General's private quarters located in the original section of the residence, while spared, were heavily damaged by smoke and water.

Repairs to the wing began immediately. A contemporary (1984) interior design concept was developed, inspired by the cool colours of the Quebec winter. Canadian materials figure prominently: walnut, granite, aluminum and wool. The major architectural feature is the "fleuve de lumière" or "river of light". Inspired by the Saint Lawrence River, this spectacular lighting system is approximately 30 metres long.

A showcase of Canadian culture

The Canadianness of the furnishings and works of art enriches the residence's heritage value. The marriage of period furniture and contemporary artwork creates a decor that reflects the country's history and its various artistic and cultural traditions.

Throughout the residence, tribute is paid to Canadian artists. Visitors can admire such paintings as Les 24 heures de l'Isle-aux-Oyes, by the renowned Jean-Paul Riopelle, a collection of Inuit artworks and the Grant de Longueuil epergne, a superb heritage treasure created in 1759.

The Governor General: A Canadian tradition

The institution of Governor General is Canada's highest and oldest public office, dating back to the earliest days of New France. Today, the Governor General represents the Canadian Crown and carries out the responsibilities of Canada's Head of State.

The Governor General plays an active part in the country's democratic life by performing such functions as the summons, prorogation and dissolution of Parliament and by ensuring that the country always has a prime minister. The Governor General also receives leaders from around the world, meets Canadians in their community and serves as the Commander-in-Chief of the Canadian Forces.

Both at Rideau Hall and at the Citadelle of Québec, the Governor General presents Canadians with the country's highest national honours, in recognition of acts of bravery and devotion or exceptional achievements in the arts, literature and community service.

The scene of historic events

During World War II, Winston Churchill, Franklin D. Roosevelt and William Lyon MacKenzie King were welcomed there by Governor General Athlone as part of the Quebec Conferences of 1943 and 1944. It was during these meetings that D-Day was conceived and the plans to rebuild Europe were developed.

Updated: 2019-03-28
Important Notices
top of page
top of page

www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Gouverneur général du Canada / Governor General of Canada
Imprimer

 


 

 

Historique

Une rsidence officielle au cur de la vieIlle capitale

Pendant prs de 250 ans, la ville de Qubec est la capitale politique et lieu de rsidence des gouverneurs de la colonie. Au lendemain de la Confdration en 1867, Rideau Hall Ottawa devient la nouvelle rsidence officielle du gouverneur gnral du Canada.

Dsirant rtablir une rsidence pour le gouverneur gnral dans la Vieille Capitale, le comte de Dufferin renoue avec cette tradition remontant la Nouvelle-France et s'installe la Citadelle de Qubec en 1872. Depuis, tous les gouverneurs gnraux y sjournent dans le cadre de leurs fonctions officielles.

Riche de 300 ans d'histoire militaire, la Citadelle fait partie de l'arrondissement historique de Qubec, site du patrimoine mondial reconnu par l'UNESCO. Construite entre 1820 et 1831, elle est occupe par les britanniques jusqu'en 1871, moment o elle est cde au gouvernement canadien. Depuis 1920, la Citadelle est galement le lieu de rsidence du Royal 22e Rgiment.

Sur les hauteurs du cap-Diamant

Lorsque le comte de Dufferin emmnage dans ses nouveaux quartiers, la rsidence est sobre et modeste. Au fil du temps, on fait construire des annexes dont une salle de bal et une verrire.

En fvrier 1976, un feu ravage le secteur est de la rsidence. Bien qu'pargns par le feu, les quartiers privs situs dans la partie d'origine sont lourdement endommags par l'eau et la fume.

Des travaux de restauration sont entrepris et la nouvelle aile est inaugure en 1984. Son design intrieur, de style contemporain, est inspir par les couleurs froides de l'hiver qubcois et met l'honneur des matriaux canadiens : noyer, granit, aluminium et laine.

La pice matresse est ce  fleuve de lumire , long de prs de 30 mtres et fabriqu de centaines de pices de verre givr, qui rend hommage au fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Une vitrine sur la culture canadienne

Le caractre canadien du mobilier et des uvres d'art enrichi la valeur patrimoniale de la rsidence. Le mariage d'un mobilier ancien des uvres d'art contemporaines cre un dcor qui reflte l'histoire et les diffrentes traditions artistiques et culturelles du pays.

Partout dans la rsidence, on rend hommage aux artistes canadiens. On peut y admirer, entre autres, des tableaux comme Les 24 heures de l'Isle-aux-Oyes, du rput Jean-Paul Riopelle, une collection d'uvres d'art inuit et l'pergne Grant de Longueuil, une superbe pice historique fabrique en 1759.

Le gouverneur gnral : une tradition canadienne

La fonction de gouverneur gnral est la charge publique la plus leve et la plus ancienne au Canada. Elle remonte au tout dbut de la Nouvelle-France. De nos jours, le gouverneur gnral reprsente la Couronne canadienne et exerce les responsabilits lies la fonction de chef d'tat du Canada.

Il ou elle participe activement la vie dmocratique en s'acquittant de fonctions comme la convocation, la prorogation et la dissolution du Parlement et en veillant ce que le pays dispose toujours d'un premier ministre. Il accueille les leaders du monde entier et rencontre les Canadiens et Canadiennes dans leur communaut. Il est aussi le Commandant en chef des Forces canadiennes.

Que ce soit Rideau Hall ou la Citadelle de Qubec, le gouverneur gnral honore les Canadiens et Canadiennes des plus hautes distinctions nationales en reconnaissance d'actes de bravoure et de dvouement ou encore pour souligner des ralisations exceptionnelles dans les arts, les lettres ou le service communautaire.

Le thtre d'vnements historiques

Pendant la Deuxime Guerre mondiale, Winston Churchill, Franklin D. Roosevelt et William Lyon MacKenzie King sont accueillis par le gouverneur gnral Athlone dans le cadre des Confrences de Qubec de 1943 et 1944. C'est au cours de ces rencontres que le Jour-J et les plans pour la reconstruction de l'Europe ont t labors.

Mise à jour : 2019-03-28
Avis importants
haut de la page
haut de la page