www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Governor General of Canada / Gouverneur général du Canadaa
Print

 


Honours

 

The Governor General’s Northern Medal

The Governor General’s Northern MedalIn 2005, the Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson, Governor General of Canada, created the Governor General’s Northern Medal, a medallion to be awarded annually to a citizen whose actions and achievements have contributed to the evolution and constant reaffirmation of the Canadian North as part of our national identity.

Eligibility

Canadian citizens who have made an outstanding contribution to Canada’s northern communities in one or more fields; whose achievements have benefited the North; who have strengthened Canada’s recognition of this region and its peoples; or who have promoted a greater awareness and understanding of the North are eligible. An advisory committee consisting of seven representatives of Aboriginal and northern communities and/or individuals who have a special expertise or knowledge of northern affairs will advise the Governor General on the award and recommend recipients.

Description of the Medallion

The snowy owl represents a watchful guardian spirit whose flight symbolizes many possibilities arising from movement in different directions. The whole North and the splendours of its unique natural phenomena are encompassed by the aurora borealis. A small Canadian Arctic Diamond refers to the North Star. The aurora radiates around the diamond illustrating the diverse possibilities and discoveries found in the region and how they enrich us all in return. The crystal base recalls an iceberg, an icon of the power and beauty of the northern land and seascape.

The medallion measures 90 mm in diameter and was designed by Cathy Bursey-Sabourin, Fraser Herald.

On the reverse, the words "Governor General’s Northern Medal / La Médaille du Gouverneur général pour la nordicité" shall appear with the name of the recipient.

The Governor General’s Northern Medal is not part of the Canadian Honours System.

Related Information:

Updated: 2009-04-30
Important Notices
top of page
top of page

www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Gouverneur général du Canada / Governor General of Canada
Imprimer

 


Honorifique

 

La Médaille du Gouverneur général pour la nordicité

La Mdaille du Gouverneur gnral pour la nordicitEn 2005, la très honorable Adrienne Clarkson, Gouverneure générale du Canada, a créé la Médaille du Gouverneur général pour la nordicité, un médaillon qui sera décerné une fois par an à une citoyenne ou un citoyen dont les actions et les réalisations auront contribué à l’évolution et à la constante réaffirmation du fait que le Nord canadien fait partie intégrante de notre identité nationale.

Admissibilité

Sont admissibles à cette récompense les citoyens canadiens qui ont apporté une contribution exceptionnelle aux collectivités nordiques du Canada dans un ou plusieurs champs d’activités; dont les réalisations ont bénéficié au Nord; qui ont aidé à renforcer la place que le Nord et ses habitants occupent au Canada; ou dont les réalisations ont permis de mieux faire connaître et comprendre le Nord. Un comité consultatif formé de sept représentants de collectivités autochtones et nordiques d’un bout à l’autre du pays ou qui ont une expertise ou une connaissance particulière du Nord fournira des avis au Gouverneur général sur les questions ayant trait à cette récompense et recommandera des candidats.

Description du médaillon

Le harfang représente un esprit protecteur vigilant dont l’envol symbolise les multiples possibilités que suscite le fait de se mouvoir dans différentes directions. L’aurore boréale évoque l’immensité du nord et la splendeur des phénomènes naturels propres à cette région. Le petit diamant Canadian Arctic, qui représente l’étoile du Nord, est entouré de l’aurore boréale qui illustre les diverses possibilités et découvertes qu’offre la région et la richesse que nous en retirons tous La base en cristal prend la forme d’un iceberg, synonyme de la puissance et de la beauté du paysage terrestre et maritime du nord.

Le médaillon, qui mesure 90 mm de diamètre, a été conçu par Cathy Bursey-Sabourin, héraut Fraser.

Au revers sont gravés les mots « Governor General’s Northern Medal / La Médaille du Gouverneur général pour la nordicité » ainsi que le nom du récipiendaire.

La Médaille du Gouverneur général pour la nordicité ne fait pas partie du Régime canadien de distinctions honorifiques.

Renseignements connexes :

Mise à jour : 2018-03-26
Avis importants
haut de la page
haut de la page