www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Governor General of Canada / Gouverneur général du Canadaa
Print

 


Honours

 

Order of Canada

The Advisory Council for the Order of Canada and the nomination review process

The Advisory Council for the Order of Canada is a duly constituted and independent advisory council that is chaired by the Chief Justice of Canada. The current chair decided at the outset that her role would be best fulfilled by staying neutral on individual nominations. The chairís role is to manage the meeting and the deliberations, so that members of the Advisory Council may give their views on individual cases before a vote is called. The practice of the chair is not to vote or to take a position for or against nominations, except on the rare occurrence of a tied vote.

The Advisory Council reviews all nominations and transmits its decisions to the Governor General. A vote is held on each nomination and there must be a majority of votes for the candidate to be appointed to the Order of Canada. A unanimous vote is not required.

When a nomination does not receive a majority of votes, the Council may request the nomination be held for a period of time and brought forward for review at a future date, allowing the candidate to continue to contribute in his/her field of endeavour. If a candidate is not recommended for appointment, the nomination may be reconsidered at a later date if new information becomes available or if a nomination is re-submitted. A nomination may be presented on more than one occasion.

All deliberations of the Advisory Council for the Order of Canada, as well as for any Canadian honour, are confidential.

Updated: 2009-12-15
Important Notices
top of page
top of page

www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Gouverneur général du Canada / Governor General of Canada
Imprimer

 


Honorifique

 

L’Ordre du Canada

Le Conseil consultatif de l’Ordre du Canada et le processus d’examen des candidatures

Le Conseil consultatif de l’Ordre du Canada est un conseil indépendant et dûment constitué qui est présidé par le juge en chef du Canada. La présidente actuelle a décidé, dès le départ, que son rôle devait être de demeurer neutre dans l’évaluation des candidatures. Son rôle consiste ainsi à gérer les réunions et les délibérations afin que les membres du Conseil de l’Ordre puissent exprimer leurs points de vue sur les candidatures avant de passer au vote. La présidente a choisi de ne pas voter ou prendre position en faveur ou contre les nominations, sauf en cas d’égalité des voix, ce qui arrive rarement.

Le Conseil consultatif de l’Ordre examine tous les dossiers de candidatures et transmet ses décisions au gouverneur général. Chaque candidature fait l’objet d’un vote, et seul les candidats ou candidates ayant reçus une majorité des votes sont nommés à l’Ordre du Canada. L’unanimité des voix n’est pas requise.

Lorsqu’une candidature ne recueille pas la majorité des voix, le Conseil peut demander que le dossier soit retenu pendant une certaine période avant d’être examiné de nouveau à une date ultérieure, ce qui permet à la candidate ou au candidat de continuer à contribuer dans son champ d’activité. Le dossier peut aussi être réexaminé si de nouveaux renseignements sont obtenus entre temps ou si la candidature est présentée une nouvelle fois. La candidature d’une personne peut être présentée plus d’une fois.

Toutes les délibérations du Conseil de l’Ordre du Canada, de même que celles des comités d’examen de toute autre distinction honorifique canadienne, sont confidentielles.

Mise à jour : 2018-03-26
Avis importants
haut de la page
haut de la page