www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Governor General of Canada / Gouverneur général du Canadaa
Print

 


 

 

His Excellency Jean-Daniel Lafond, C.C.

Role of the spouse of the governor general

The spouse of the governor general plays a tangible role in carrying out the mandate of the governor general of Canada. The spouse’s efforts enrich the influence of Canada’s oldest public institution.

The spouse of the governor general takes part in official ceremonies and national celebrations such as the opening of Parliament, Order of Canada investiture ceremonies and official ceremonies such as Canada Day. The spouse welcomes foreign dignitaries and plays an active role in the governor general’s visits to each of the provinces and territories at the beginning of the term, and in State visits abroad.

The spouse is accorded the same precedence as the governor general and is also designated His or Her Excellency while in office. He is also granted membership in the Order of Canada at the level of Companion, and is designated a knight of the Order of St. John.

Over the years, a number of spouses have pursued important projects that have advanced the well-being of our society. This is certainly true in the case of His Excellency Jean-Daniel Lafond, who, since his arrival at Rideau Hall, the governor general’s official residence in Ottawa, has steadfastly supported his wife, the Governor General of Canada, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean, in her efforts to “break down solitudes”.

Areas of involvement of His Excellency Jean-Daniel Lafond, C.C.

Mr. Lafond has directed his passion and ideas towards the institution of the governor general and to the Canadian people. Since his arrival, and with the objective of enriching national dialogue, he has enthusiastically embarked on two ambitious projects: Art Matters and the Citizen Voices Web site.

Art Matters

Their Excellencies wished to create a space for reflection and dialogue that would be held in conjunction with ceremonies honouring and celebrating Canadian artistic talent. To reach this goal, Mr. Lafond launched a series of forums, entitled Art Matters, which provide exciting opportunities to bring together laureates, artists, academics, administrators and members of the public to observe and discuss the challenges related to culture in our society. Over 30 Art Matters forums have been held at Rideau Hall, during visits to the provinces and territories, and during official visits abroad.

Citizen Voices (www.citizenvoices.gg.ca)

This new Web site was launched in September 2006, on the occasion of a live chat with the Governor General, on the first anniversary of her installation. An innovative and dynamic tool, it allows people to communicate easily, expand their networks and connect with Rideau Hall.

This site came about as Mr. Lafond and a team of young and enthusiastic collaborators started thinking about creating tools for fostering debate and dialogue.

Citizen Voices has become a platform to sound off on a variety of topics and issues, such as citizen engagement, youth, women and the arts. Visitors have had the opportunity to read blogs by their Excellencies and by guest bloggers; to participate in online forums; and even follow the Governor General as she concluded her official visits to Canadian provinces and territories, and visited foreign countries, such as France in May 2008. During State visits to African countries, Brazil and Europe, the Governor General blogged about her experiences, while members of the delegation contributed with daily dispatches. Visitors were also invited to tune in to live webcasts of events and key speeches, as well as video blogs.

Canada’s Francophone community

Canada has a unique relationship and place within la Francophonie. During visits across Canada, His Excellency has taken part in numerous meetings on the state of the extended family of French speakers in Canada. During the summer and fall of 2008, he welcomed participants of Cap sur les ports francophones at the Citadelle, the Residence of the Governor General in the City of Québec. This international event was organized in collaboration with the Agence universitaire de la Francophonie. He also hosted an international colloquium on Marie de l’Incarnation, the first female writer of New France, particulary an epistle writer. Several Art Matters forums were dedicated to la Francophonie, particularly those held in Bordeaux in May, and in Montréal in October.

The 400th anniversary of the founding of the City of Québec in 2008

Mr. Lafond has worked closely with the Société du 400e de Québec, the Comité d’organisation français du 400e anniversaire de la ville de Québec, and with the French cities of La Rochelle and Rochefort and the municipality of Royan in France to propose programming at the Citadelle in connection with the celebrations. At the same time, he supervised the renovations of the Redoubt—the first defence structure built on the original site of the Citadelle during the 17th century, under the French regime—and turned it into a museum dedicated to Champlain, to the French regime, and to the office of the governor general.

In the spring and summer of 2008, the Residence of the Governor General at the Citadelle hosted activities and colourful exhibitions. Le Grand Livre de Champlain, a compilation of the notes, maps and engravings of this great explorer, was officially installed in the Redoubt, and has become an important focal point. This larger-than-life work of art is a gift to the Canadian people from the cities of La Rochelle and Rochefort and the Agglomération Royan Atlantique, in France.

Updated: 2019-03-28
Important Notices
top of page
top of page

www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Gouverneur général du Canada / Governor General of Canada
Imprimer

 


 

 

Son Excellence Jean-Daniel Lafond, C.C.

Rôle du conjoint du gouverneur général

Le conjoint du gouverneur général contribue de manière tangible à la réalisation du mandat du gouverneur général du Canada en titre. Ses efforts permettent d’étendre l’influence de l’institution publique la plus ancienne au Canada.

Le conjoint du gouverneur général participe aux cérémonies officielles et aux célébrations nationales comme l’ouverture des sessions du Parlement, les cérémonies d’investiture de l’Ordre du Canada et les cérémonies protocolaires, dont celles de la fête du Canada. Il accueille des dignitaires étrangers et prend une part active aux visites que le gouverneur général effectue dans chaque province et territoire en début de mandat et aux visites d’État à l’étranger.

On accorde au conjoint la même préséance que le gouverneur général et on lui donne le titre d’Excellence pendant toute la durée du mandat. Il est Compagnon de l’Ordre du Canada et Chevalier de l’Ordre de Saint-Jean.

Au fil des ans, plusieurs conjoints ont entrepris d’importants projets qui ont favorisé le mieux-être et l’avancement de la société. C’est le cas de Son Excellence Jean-Daniel Lafond qui, depuis son arrivée à Rideau Hall, la résidence officielle du gouverneur général à Ottawa, apporte un appui indéfectible à son épouse la gouverneure générale du Canada, Son Excellence la très honorable Michaëlle Jean, qui s’est engagée à « briser les solitudes ».

Les dossiers de Son Excellence Jean-Daniel Lafond, C.C.

Monsieur Lafond a mis sa passion et ses idées au service de l’institution et de la population canadienne. Dès son arrivée, et ayant pour objectif d’enrichir le dialogue citoyen, il a entrepris avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme la réalisation de deux projets audacieux, le Point des arts et le site Web À l’écoute des citoyens.

Le Point des arts

Leurs Excellences ont souhaité ajouter un espace de réflexion et de dialogue aux cérémonies qui ont pour but d’honorer et de récompenser le talent des artistes canadiens. À l’initiative de monsieur Lafond, ces forums intitulés le Point des arts offrent des occasions exceptionnelles de rassembler les lauréats, des artistes, des universitaires, des gestionnaires et des membres du public pour discuter des défis auxquels fait face la culture dans notre société. Plus de 30 forums du Point des arts ont eu lieu à Rideau Hall, lors des visites dans les provinces et territoires et durant les visites officielles à l’étranger.

À l’écoute des citoyens (www.ecoutedescitoyens.gg.ca)

Ce nouveau site Internet a été lancé en septembre 2006 à l’occasion du premier anniversaire de l’installation de la gouverneure générale, lors d’une séance de clavardage avec elle. Outil innovateur et dynamique, il facilite le dialogue des citoyens entre eux, permet d’élargir les réseaux et d’établir un lien avec Rideau Hall. Ce site est né de la réflexion de monsieur Lafond et d’une équipe de collaborateurs jeunes et enthousiastes sur le renouvellement des outils favorisant le débat et le dialogue.

À l’écoute des citoyens est devenu un lieu d’expression sur toutes sortes de sujets et questions, comme l’engagement citoyen, les jeunes, les femmes et les arts. Celles et ceux qui ont visité le site ont pu lire les blogues de Leurs Excellences et de blogueurs invités; ils ont aussi pu participer à des forums et même suivre la gouverneure générale au terme de ses visites officielles, entre autres en France en mai 2008, et dans les provinces et territoires et lors de ses visites à l’étranger. Durant les visites d’États dans les pays d’Afrique et d’Europe et au Brésil, la gouverneure générale a fait part de ses expériences et rencontres sur le terrain à travers ses blogues, et les membres de la délégation qui l’accompagnaient en ont fait autant quotidiennement. On a également pu suivre en direct certains événements et discours clés diffusés sous forme de webémissions et visionner des vidéoblogues.

La Francophonie canadienne

Le Canada a des liens privilégiés et une place unique au sein de la grande famille de La Francophonie. Au cours de ses visites à travers le pays, Son Excellence participe à de nombreuses rencontres au sujet de l’état général de la francophonie au Canada. Au cours de l’été et de l’automne 2008, il a accueilli à la Résidence du gouverneur général à la Citadelle de Québec l’événement international Cap sur les ports francophones, organisé en collaboration avec l’Agence universitaire de la Francophonie, et un colloque international consacré à Marie de l’Incarnation, première femme écrivaine et épistolière de la Nouvelle-France. Plusieurs Point des arts ont été consacrés à la francophonie, en particulier ceux de Bordeaux en mai 2008 et de Montréal en octobre.

Le 400e anniversaire de la fondation de Québec en 2008

Monsieur Lafond a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec la Société du 400e de Québec, le Comité d’organisation français du 400e anniversaire de la ville de Québec, en France, et les villes françaises de La Rochelle, Rochefort et l’Agglomération Royan Atlantique, afin de proposer une programmation pour la résidence officielle du gouverneur général à la Citadelle dans le cadre des célébrations. Parallèlement, il a supervisé la remise en état de la Redoute, premier ouvrage défensif construit au XVIIe siècle sous le régime français sur le site initial de la Citadelle, pour en faire un musée consacré à Champlain, au régime français et à la fonction de gouverneur général.

Au printemps 2008, la Résidence officielle du gouverneur général à la Citadelle a été l’hôte d’activités et d’expositions hautes en couleur qui se sont poursuivies tout l’été. Le Grand Livre de Champlain, qui réunit les notes, les cartes et les gravures de ce grand explorateur, est alors officiellement installé à la Redoute dont il devient l’un des attraits. Cette œuvre d’art plus grande que nature est un don des villes de La Rochelle, Rochefort et l’Agglomération Royan Atlantique au peuple canadien.

Mise à jour : 2019-03-28
Avis importants
haut de la page
haut de la page