www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Governor General of Canada / Gouverneur général du Canadaa




New Appointments To The Order Of Canada

January 11, 2000

OTTAWA -- Her Excellency the Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson, Governor General of Canada, today announced 81 new appointments to the Order of Canada. The Governor General is Chancellor and Principal Companion of the Order. The list of appointments includes three Companions (C.C.),

25 Officers (O.C.) and 53 Members (C.M.).

The new appointments are in effect as of October 21, 1999. The appointees will be invited to future investiture ceremonies to be held at Rideau Hall. At that time, the Governor General will present the insignia of the Order.

The Order of Canada recognizes people who have made a difference to our country. From local citizens to national and international personalities, all Canadians are eligible for the Order of Canada -- our country's highest honour for lifetime achievement. Three different levels of membership honour people whose accomplishments vary in degree and scope: Companion, Officer and Member.

The Order of Canada was established in 1967 to recognize outstanding achievement and service in various fields of human endeavour. Appointments are made on the recommendation of an Advisory Council, chaired by the Chief Justice of Canada.

If you know someone who has made a difference, you can nominate him or her for the Order of Canada by: calling 1-800-O-Canada to receive an information brochure and nomination form; completing a nomination form and mailing it to the Chancellery of Honours, Rideau Hall, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0A1; or by visiting our Web site at www.gg.ca.

Charles Philippe Leblond, C.C. (Health Care)
(This is a promotion within the Order.)
Montréal, Que.
Rabbi W. Gunther Plaut, C.C., O.Ont. (Religion)
(This is a promotion within the Order.)
Toronto, Ont.
The Honourable Maurice F. Strong, P.C., C.C. (Environment)
(This is a promotion within the Order.)
Lakefield, Ont.

Kiawak Ashoona, O.C. (Visual Arts) Cape Dorset, Nunavut
Francesco Bellini, O.C. (Industry/Commerce/Business) Town of Mount Royal, Que.
Robert Harry Clark, O.C. (Engineering) Ajax, Ont.
The Honourable Lorne O. Clarke, O.C. (Law) Halifax, N.S.
Richard Leigh Cruess, O.C. (Health Care)
(This is a promotion within the Order.)
Montréal, Que.
Henri Dorion, O.C., C.Q. (Social Sciences) Sainte-Foy, Que.
Ruth Miriam Goldbloom, O.C. (Voluntarism)
(This is a promotion within the Order.)
Halifax, N.S.
Fernand Grenier, O.C. (Social Sciences) Sainte-Croix-de-Lotbinière, Que.
Daniel G. Hill III, O.C., O.Ont. (Social Service) Don Mills, Ont.
Tom Jackson, O.C. (Music) Calgary, Alta.
Maureen Kempston Darkes, O.C., O.Ont. (Industry/Commerce/Business) Toronto, Ont.
Daniel Langlois, O.C., C.Q. (Industry/Commerce/Business) Montréal, Que.
John Daniel Leitch, O.C. (Industry/Commerce/Business) King City, Ont.
Jagmohan S. Maini, O.C. (Science) New York, N.Y., U.S.A. and Gloucester, Ont.
Sarah McLachlan, O.C. (Music) Vancouver, B.C.
Robert Vaughan Moody, O.C. (Science) Edmonton, Alta.
Eric P. Newell, O.C. (Industry/Commerce/Business) Fort McMurray, Alta.
Eva Sophie Prager, O.C. (Visual Arts) Westmount, Que.
David J. Roy, O.C. (Social Sciences) Montréal, Que.
The Honourable Frederick W. Russell, O.C. (Voluntarism)
(This is a promotion within the Order.)
St. John's, Nfld.
Donna M. Scott, O.C. (Industry/Commerce/Business) Toronto, Ont.
Jeffrey Simpson, O.C. (Communications) Ottawa, Ont.
Wilfred Cantwell Smith, O.C. (Education) Ottawa, Ont.
Jack Stoddart, O.C. (Industry/Commerce/Business) Newmarket, Ont.
Edith Wiens, O.C. (Music) Krailling, Germany and Saskatoon, Sask.

Boyd M. Anderson, C.M., S.O.M. (Industry/Commerce/Business) Glentworth, Sask.
Margaret Arkinstall, C.M. (Voluntarism) Newmarket, Ont.
Annette Helene Augustine, C.M. (Voluntarism) Thunder Bay, Ont.
Glen Merlyn Bagnell, C.M. (Voluntarism) Dartmouth, N.S.
Bradford J. Barton, C.M. (Education) Dartmouth, N.S.
Leonard Joseph Birchall, C.M., O.B.E., D.F.C., O.Ont., C.D. (Protective Service) Kingston, Ont.
Omer Brazeau, C.M. (Voluntarism) Rimouski, Que.
Georges Brossard, C.M. (Science) Saint-Bruno, Que.
William John Antliff Bulman, C.M. (Philanthropy) Winnipeg, Man.
Howard Reid Cable, C.M. (Music) Toronto, Ont.
Charles Connaghan, C.M. (Labour Relations) West Vancouver, B.C.
Michel Dallaire, C.M., C.Q. (Visual Arts) Montréal, Que.
Michael Christian de Pencier, C.M., O.Ont. (Industry/Commerce/Business) Toronto, Ont.
Pierre Deschamps, C.M. (Voluntarism) Montréal, Que.
Dorothy Harley Eber, C.M. (Heritage) Montréal, Que.
Richard W. Fyfe, C.M. (Science) Fort Saskatchewan, Alta.
France Gagnon Pratte, C.M. (Heritage) Québec, Que.
Sheldon W. Galbraith, C.M. (Sports) Aurora, Ont.
André Jacques Galipeault, C.M. (Philanthropy) Toronto, Ont.
Peter J. George, C.M. (Education) Hamilton, Ont.
Irving Russell Gerstein, C.M. (Voluntarism) Toronto, Ont.
Walter J. Hachborn, C.M. (Industry/Commerce/Business) St. Jacobs, Ont.
David Mackness Hayne, C.M. (Education) Claremont, Ont.
Keith Ian Munro Heming, C.M. (Social Service) Killarney, Man.
Jack Hirsh, C.M. (Health Care) Hamilton, Ont.
Brian C. Hollywood, C.M. (Health Care) St. Lawrence, Nfld.
William Dickenson Hunter, C.M. (Sports) Edmonton, Alta.
John Joseph Jodrey, C.M. (Industry/Commerce/Business) Hantsport, N.S.
Edith M. Johnston, C.M. (Voluntarism) London, Ont.
Gilles Kègle, C.M. (Voluntarism) Québec, Que.
Douglas Ronald Knott, C.M. (Science) Saskatoon, Sask.
The Reverend Garth Warren Legge, C.M. (Social Service) Richmond Hill, Ont.
David Y.H. Lui, C.M. (Stage) Vancouver, B.C.
Helen Manyfingers, C.M. (Education) Cardston, Alta.
Gerald A.B. McGavin, C.M. (Industry/Commerce/Business) Vancouver, B.C.
John Reid Morden, C.M. (Public Service) Toronto, Ont.
Geoffrey Stuart Murray, C.M., C.D. (Public Service) Gloucester, Ont.
Walter Ostanek, C.M. (Music) St. Catharines, Ont.
Charles Pachter, C.M. (Visual Arts) Toronto, Ont.
Geoffrey L. Pawson, C.M. (Social Service) Regina, Sask.
Walter Prystawski, C.M. (Music) Ottawa, Ont.
The Honourable James W. Ross, C.M. (Social Service) Fredericton, N.B.
Guy Savard, C.M. (Industry/Commerce/Business) Montréal, Que.
William G. Saywell, C.M., O.B.C. (Education) Vancouver, B.C.
Alan K. Scales, C.M. (Voluntarism) Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Seymour Schulich, C.M. (Philanthropy) Willowdale, Ont.
David Harry Searle, C.M. (Politics) Vancouver, B.C. and Yellowknife, N.W.T.
Benjamin Shapiro, C.M., C.D. (Protective Service) Ottawa, Ont.
Shirley Sharzer, C.M. (Communications) Gloucester, Ont.
Donald Dougans Tansley, C.M. (Public Service) Stittsville, Ont. and Saanichton, B.C.
Charles Haskell Tator, C.M. (Health Care) Toronto, Ont.
John Hebden Todd, C.M. (Voluntarism) Victoria, B.C.
William Clare Wonders, C.M., C.D. (Social Sciences) Victoria, B.C.

Media information: Pam Millar and Geneviève Bouchard, Press Office, Government House, (613) 993-8157 or (613) 998-0287

Public information: Chancellery of Honours, Government House, (613) 993-3524 or 1-800-465-6890

For more information on the Governor General, please visit our Web site: www.gg.ca

Updated: 2000-01-11
Important Notices
top of page
top of page