www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Governor General of Canada / Gouverneur général du Canadaa




The Late Tanya Moiseiwitsch recognized with the Order of Canada

May 16, 2003

OTTAWA– On behalf of Her Excellency the Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson, Governor General of Canada, Mr. Mel Cappe, Canada's High Commissioner, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, presented the insignia of Honorary Officer of the Order of Canada to the family of the late Tanya Moiseiwitsch during a private ceremony held today in London, England. Mrs Moiseiwitsch passed away on February 18, 2003.

Appointments are made on the recommendation of an Advisory Council, chaired by the Chief Justice of Canada. Ms. Moiseiwitsch's appointment to the Order is in effect as of October 10, 2002.

The citation is the following:

Tanya Moiseiwitsch, O.C.
Honorary Officer of the Order of Canada

She has had an enormous impact on theatre arts in the 20th century. Throughout a long and illustrious career, this renowned theatre designer has set standards for innovation and excellence in her stage and production design as well as in costuming. Notably, in 1953, she collaborated in the founding of Ontario's Stratford Shakespearean Festival. Her creation of the Festival's thrust stage inspired theatre designers around the world and influenced play-writing itself. She has also generously shared her talent with younger artists, many who are now internationally recognized.

A backgrounder of the Order of Canada is attached.


Media information
France Langlois or Lucie Brosseau
Rideau Hall Press Office
(613) 993-8157 or (613) 998-0287

Public information
The Chancellery of Honours
(613) 993-2569 or 1-800-465-6890

Order of Canada Backgrounder

  • The Order of Canada was established in 1967 to recognize outstanding achievement and service in various fields of human endeavour. It is our country's highest honour for lifetime achievement.
  • Three different levels of membership – Companion, Officer and Member – honour people whose accomplishments vary in degree and scope.
  • Appointments are made on the recommendation of an Advisory Council, chaired by the Chief Justice of Canada. The Governor General is the Chancellor and Principal Companion of the Order.
  • Membership in the Advisory Council reflects the diversity and excellence in Canadian society. Certain Advisory Council members are appointed by virtue of their office; others are appointed to the Council for a fixed term to achieve a balanced representation of the various regions of the country.
  • The current members of the Council are:
    • The Right Honourable Beverley McLachlin, P.C., Chief Justice of Canada (Chair)
    • Dr. Howard Alper, O.C., President of the Royal Society of Canada
    • Mr. Alex Himelfarb, Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet
    • Mrs. Judith A. LaRocque, C.V.O., Deputy Minister, Department of Canadian Heritage
    • Dr. Peter MacKinnon, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada
    • The Honourable Jean-Louis Roux, C.C., C.Q., Chair of the Canada Council for the Arts
    • The late Honourable Rosemary Brown, P.C., O.C., O.B.C. (Vancouver)
    • Mr. Georges Henry Erasmus, O.C. (Yellowknife)
    • Mrs. Ruth Goldbloom, O.C. (Halifax)
    • Mr. James Kenneth Gray, O.C. (Calgary)
    • The Honourable Antonine Maillet, P.C., C.C., O.Q. (Montréal)
  • Any Canadian can be nominated for the Order of Canada. The only exception is federal and provincial politicians and judges, who cannot be appointed while holding office.
  • Non-Canadians can be considered for honorary appointments.
Updated: 2003-05-16
Important Notices
top of page
top of page