www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Governor General of Canada / Gouverneur général du Canadaa
Print

 


 

 

Appendix B

Financial Statements of the
Office of the Secretary to the Governor General


For the Year Ended March 31, 2004

Office of the Secretary to the Governor General
Management’s Responsibility for the Financial Statements

Responsibility for the integrity and objectivity of the accompanying financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2004 and all information contained in this report rests with the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General’s management.

These statements, which include amounts based on management’s best estimates as determined through experience and judgement, have been prepared in accordance with Treasury Board Accounting Standards based upon Canadian generally accepted accounting principles. Readers of these statements are cautioned that the financial statements are not necessarily complete; certain liabilities and expenses are only recorded at a government wide level at this time. These statements should be read within the context of the significant accounting policies set out in the Notes.

Management has developed and maintains books, records, internal controls and management practices, designed to provide reasonable assurance that the Government’s assets are safeguarded and controlled, resources are managed economically and efficiently in the attainment of corporate objectives, and that transactions are in accordance with the Financial Administration Act and regulations as well as the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General’s policies and statutory requirements.

_____________________________
Barbara Uteck
Secretary to the Governor General
and Herald Chancellor

_____________________________
JoAnn MacKenzie
Director General, Corporate Services



Statement of Financial Position (unaudited)

As at March 31
(dollars)

2004 2003
ASSETS    
Financial assets:    
          Cash 22,273 3,203
          Accounts receivable (note 3) 11,333 27,669
          Gift shop inventory 71,805 84,873
  105,411 115,745
Non-financial assets:    
          Medals and official gifts 632,411 580,381
          Capital assets (note 4) 451,131 416,831
  1,083,542 997,212
TOTAL ASSETS 1,188,953 1,112,957
LIABILITIES
   
          Accounts payable and accrued
          liabilities (note 3)
279,005 920,736
          Accrued salaries and benefits 1,096,952 1,043,905
          Deferred revenue (note 5) 18,530 4,550
TOTAL LIABILITIES 1,394,487 1,969,191
NET LIABILITIES 205,534 856,234
TOTAL 1,188,953 1,112,957

Commitments (note 7)
Contingencies (note 8)

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these financial statements


Statement of Operations and Net Liabilities (unaudited)

For the year ended March 31
(dollars)

  2004 2003
  Revenues
Note 6
Expenses
Note 6
Net
Cost
Revenues
Note 6
Expenses
Note 6
Net
Cost
Business Line            
Governor General 132,878 15,083,315 14,950,437 107,223 15,926,341 15,819,118
Honours 15,896 3,489,805 3,473,909 62,278 3,410,485 3,348,207
Former Governors General   773,225 773,225   863,832 863,832
Total 148,774 19,346,345 19,197,571 169,501 20,200,658 20,031,157
Net liabilities, April 1           1,403,613
Net cash provided by Government           20,578,536
Net liabilities, March 31     205,534     856,234


Statement of Cash Flows (unaudited)

(dollars)
For the year ended March 31

  2004 2003
Operating transactions
         Net cost of operations 19,197,571 20,031,157

Adjustments for items notaffecting cash

           Statement of Operations
   
              Amortization of capital assets (113,648) (46,818)
              Gain on disposal of capital assets - 6,000
           Statement of Financial Position    
              Decrease (increase) in liabilities 574,704 77,115
              Increase (decrease) in assets other
              than capital assets
41,696 107,117
Cash applied to operating transactions 19,700,323 20,174,571
     
Capital transactions    
           Acquisitions of capital assets 147,948 409,965
           Sale of capital assets - (6,000)
Cash applied to capital transactions 147,948 403,965
Net Cash Provided by Government 19,848,271 20,578,536


The accompanying notes form an integral part of these Statements.


Notes to the Financial Statements (unaudited)

For the year ended March 31, 2004

1. Authority and Objectives

The Office of the Secretary to the Governor General (the OSGG) was constituted through Letters Patent on October 1, 1947. The OSGG is defined as an agency by virtue of it being listed in Schedule 1.1 of the Financial Administration Act.

The primary objectives of the OSGG are to enable the Governor General to perform his/her constitutional and traditional roles and to provide the administration of Honours. The Office also provides for expenditures in respect of pensions and activities performed by former Governors General. To reflect these objectives, the operations of the OSGG is divided into three business lines:

(a) Governor General – provides for the Governor General’s salary, for the costs of the Governor General’s annual program including visits in Canada and abroad, for the citizen access and visitor services program at Rideau Hall and the operation of the office and residences;

(b) Honours – provides for the administration of programs in the National Honours system, including the Order of Canada, the Order of Military Merit, the Canadian Bravery Decorations, the Meritorious Service Decorations, Exemplary Service Medals, Special Service Medals, Commemorative and other medals; provides for the administration of the Governor General’s Academic Medals and the Governor General’s Caring Canadian Award; and, provides for the administration of the Canadian Heraldic Authority; and,

(c) Former Governors General – provides for the activities performed by former Governors General, which devolve upon them as a result of their having occupied that office and the pensions of former Governors General or their spouses.

2. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

(a) Basis of Preparation

These financial statements have been prepared on an accrual basis of accounting in accordance with Treasury Board Accounting Standards. These Standards are based on generally accepted accounting principles in Canada. The primary source of the accounting principles is from the recommendations of the Public Sector Accounting Board of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants supplemented by the recommendations of the Accounting Standards Board of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants for situations not covered by the Public Sector Accounting Board. Readers of these statements are cautioned that the introduction of accrual accounting at the departmental level is evolutionary. Not all assets, liabilities and expenses applicable to the OSGG are recorded at the departmental level at this time. Items such as a portion of the Consolidated Revenue Fund; pension fund liabilities; severance pay liabilities; severance pay expenses except for cash payments; services provided without charge, etc are not recorded. As such, the financial statements are not necessarily complete. However, all such assets, liabilities and expenses are recorded in the financial statements of the Government of Canada. The following notes provide additional detail and should be read with care.

(b) Consolidated Revenue Fund

All departments and agencies, including the OSGG, operate within the Consolidated Revenue Fund (CRF), which is administered by the Receiver General for Canada. All cash receipts and all cash disbursements made by the OSGG flow through the CRF.

(c) Net Cash Provided by Government

This is the difference between all cash receipts and all cash disbursements including transactions with other departments made by the OSGG during the year.

(d) Revenue

These are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event occurred that gave rise to the revenues. Revenues received but not earned are recorded as deferred revenue and are primarily related to Governor General events. They are recorded as revenue when the event is held and related expenditures are incurred.

(e) Expenses

The OSGG records expenses when the underlying transaction or event giving rise to the expense occurred, subject to the following:

  • Employee severance benefits are expensed as paid; no estimated accruals are recorded; accruals of these benefits is recognized in the consolidated financial statements of the Government of Canada;
  • Vacation pay and overtime are expensed in the year the entitlement occurs;
  • Contributions to superannuation plans are recognized in the period that the contributions are made; actuarial surpluses or deficiencies are not recorded in the OSGG’s books but are recognized in the consolidated financial statements of the Government of Canada. The OSGG’s contribution to the Public Service Superannuation Plan in the year was $1,337,492;
  • A certain number of federal departments and agencies support the activities of the Governor General and the Office as part of their mandate. The level of support and services provided to the Office of the Governor General is determined by each of the contributors and funded out of the budgets of those organizations. The various contributing departments and agencies are responsible for allocating and managing the funds they provide to support the activities of the Governor General and the Office and are subject to Treasury Board guidelines. The amounts spent by the departments and agencies in question do not appear in the accounts of the Office of the Governor General. The major departments and agencies providing support include: the Solicitor General of Canada (RCMP) for protective/security services; the Department of National Defence for transportation services, ceremonial support, logistical support and photographic services; the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade for foreign policy advice and foreign/state visit support; the Department of Canadian Heritage for planning and conduct of state and ceremonial occasions including royal visits and state funerals; Public Works and Government Services Canada for management of La Citadelle, the Governor General's official residence in Quebec City and for office accommodation for the Chancellery; and the National Capital Commission for property management services. Support provided by these government departments and agencies are not recorded as operating expenses by the OSGG at the present time. The information is not currently available to the OSGG and any estimation could not be substantiated with any degree of precision. Contributions covering employer's share of employee's insurance premiums and costs paid by the Treasury Board Secretariat are also not recorded.

(f) Receivables

Receivables are stated at amounts that are expected to be ultimately realized.

(g) Gift Shop Inventory

Gift shop inventory is valued at the lower of cost and net realizable value.

(h) Medals and Official Gifts

Medals for the Order of Canada insignia and other honours, held for distribution in the future, are recorded at original cost.

(i) Capital Assets

All assets treated as capital assets under Public Sector Accounting Board Recommendations plus leasehold improvements, having an initial cost of $5,000 or more, are recorded at their acquisition cost. Capital assets do not include intangibles, works of art and historical treasures that have cultural, aesthetic or historical value.

The OSGG capitalizes capital assets on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the capital asset as follows:

Asset Class

Amortization Period

Informatics hardware

3 years

Motor vehicles

5 years

Informatics software

7 years

(j) Insurance

The OSGG does not carry insurance since it is the policy of the Government of Canada to selfinsure.

(k) Annuity Payments to Former Governors General

Pursuant to provisions contained within the Governor General’s Act and the Supplementary Retirement Benefits Act, taxable annuities are paid to: (i) former Governors General; and (ii) surviving spouses of former Governors General. These annuities are indexed annually to the Consumer Price Index and are recognized in the period in which payment is due. In the 2003-04 fiscal year, such payments amounted to $280,259.

(l) Foreign currency transactions

Transactions involving foreign currencies are translated into Canadian dollar equivalents using rates of exchange in effect at the time of those transactions.

(m) Measurement Uncertainty

The preparation of financial statements requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses reported in the financial statements. At the time of preparation of these statements, management believes the estimates and assumptions to be reasonable. The most significant item where estimates are used is amortization of capital assets.

3. Accounts Receivable and Payables

The accounts receivable and accounts payable with other Government departments and unrelated external parties are as follows:

  2004 2003
  (dollars)  
Accounts Receivable:    
External Parties 10,500 11,500
Other Government Departments 833 16,169
Total 11,333 27,669
 
Accounts Payable and Accrued Liabilities:    
Other Government Departments 46,376 288,770
External Parties 232,629 631,966
Total 279,005 920,736

4. Capital Assets

  Informatics Software Informatics Hardware Vehicles Total
 
(dollars)
Opening April 1, 2003  
     Cost 135,776 329,764 214,860 680,400
     Accumulated Amortization - 167,923 95,646 263,569
     Net Carrying Cost 135,776 161,841 119,214 416,831
2003-04 transactions        
     Additions - 147,948 - 147,948
     Net Disposals - - - -
     Net write-downs - - - -
     Amortization
19,397 76,786 17,465 113,648
Closing March 31, 2004
       
     Cost
135,776 477,712 214,860 828,348
     Accumulated Amortization
19,397 244,709 113,111 377,217
     Net Carrying Cost 116,379 233,003 101,749 451,131
 

5. Deferred Revenue

This account has been established to record gifts, donations or bequests to Rideau Hall from private organizations and individuals to fund specific initiatives.

  2004   2003
  (dollars)
Opening Balance 4,550   -
Add: Deposits 13,980   4,550
Less: Payments -   -
Closing Balance 18,530   4,550

6. Summary of Revenues and Expenses by Major Classification

A summary of revenues and expenses for the year ended March 31 is as follows:

  2004   2003
Revenues (dollars)
Gift Shop 103,902   101,223
Other 44,872   68,278
Total Expenses 148,774   169,501
     
Salaries and employee benefits 12,746,650   12,238,388
Materials and supplies 1,999,720   2,209,761
Other Business Services 1,112,958   1,055,779
Travel 1,000,978   1,417,683
Professional services 955,113   1,572,791
Information services 628,629   845,640
Telecommunications 373,779   280,172
Rentals 227,547   283,623
Postage, Freight and Cartage 117,824   150,940
Amortization of capital assets 113,648   46,818
Miscellaneous 69,499   99,063
Total 19,346,345   20,200,658

7. Commitments

The OSGG does not have any material commitments to report.

8. Contingencies

In the normal course of its operations, the OSGG may become involved in various legal actions. Some of these potential liabilities may become actual liabilities when one or more future events occur or fail to occur. To the extent that the future event is likely to occur or fail to occur, and a reasonable estimate of the loss can be made, an estimated liability is accrued and an expense recorded on the government’s consolidated financial statements. These estimated liabilities are not recognized on the OSGG’s financial statement as a liability until the amount of the liability is firmly established.

9. Related Party Transactions

The OSGG is related in terms of common ownership to all Government of Canada departments and agencies, and Crown Corporations. The OSGG enters into transactions with these entities in the normal course of business and on normal trade terms except for those services provided without charge as previously identified.

10. Parliamentary Appropriations

The OSGG receives its funding through Parliamentary appropriations, which is based primarily on cash flow requirements. Items recognized on the Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through Parliamentary appropriations in prior and future years. Accordingly, the OSGG has different net results of operations for the year on a government-funding basis than on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles. These differences are reconciled below.

(a) Reconciliation to net cost of operations

  2004   2003
    (dollars)  
Net cost of operations 19,197,571   20,031,157
Adjustments:      
Items affecting Net Results but not affecting Appropriations      
Less:Expenses not affecting appropriations      
Medals and official gifts issued 272,445   261,090
Employee leave benefits earned 172,805   256,493
Amortization 113,648   46,818
Inventory used 74,241   60,143
Department of Justice legal fees 810   -
  633,949   624,544
       
Add: Revenue not affecting appropriations 148,774   169,501
  18,712,396   19,576,114
       
Items not affecting Net Results but affecting Appropriations      
Add: Purchase of medals and official gifts 307,424   289,479
Capital acquisitions 147,948   409,966
Payments of employee leave benefits 104,447   204,486
Purchase of gift shop inventory 60,844   95,655
Employee advances (1,000)   -
  619,663   999,586
       
Total Parliamentary appropriations used 19,332,059   20,575,700
 

(b) Parliamentary appropriations provided and used

  Appropriations Provided Appropriations Used
  2004 2003 2004 2003
  (dollars)
Program expenditures 17,151,001 18,645,250 17,062,782 18,265,356
Statutory amounts 2,269,586 2,310,653 2,269,277 2,310,344
         
Total 19,420,587 20,955,903 19,332,059 20,575,700
Updated: 2018-03-26
Important Notices
top of page
top of page

www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Gouverneur général du Canada / Governor General of Canada
Imprimer

 


 

 

Annex B

tats financiers du Bureau du
secrtaire du gouverneur gnral


Pour l'exercice termin le 31 mars 2004

Bureau du secrtaire du gouverneur gnral Responsabilit de la direction l'gard des tats financiers

La responsabilit de l'intgrit et de l'objectivit des tats financiers ci-joints pour l'exercice financier termin le 31 mars 2004 et de toute l'information figurant dans le prsent rapport incombe la direction du Bureau du secrtaire du gouverneur gnral.

La direction a prpar les tats financiers conformment aux Normes comptables du Conseil du Trsor, fondes sur les principes comptables gnralement reconnus au Canada, et le cas chant, selon les meilleures estimations possibles fondes sur le jugement et l'exprience. Une mise en garde s'impose toutefois : les tats financiers ne sont pas forcment complets, car certains passifs et certaines dpenses ne sont consigns, en ce moment, qu' l'chelle de l'administration fdrale. Les prsents tats financiers devraient aussi tre consults au regard des conventions comptables dcrites dans les notes.

La direction a prpar et tient jour des livres, des registres, des mcanismes de contrle interne et des pratiques de gestion pour donner une assurance raisonnable que les lments d'actif du gouvernement sont protgs et contrls, que les ressources sont gres de faon conomique et efficace aux fins de la ralisation des objectifs ministriels et que les oprations sont excutes conformment la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et ses rglements et conformment aux politiques et aux obligations lgales du Bureau du secrtaire du gouverneur gnral.

La secrétaire de la Gouverneure générale
chancelière d’armes,



La directrice générale des Service et
ministériels,



_____________________________
Barbara Uteck

_____________________________
JoAnn MacKenzie



État de la situation financière (non vérifié)

au 31 mars
(en dollars)

2004 2003
ACTIF    
Actif financier    
          Liquidités 22 273 3 203
          Débiteurs (note 3) 11 333 27 669
          Stocks - boutique de souvenirs 71 805 84 873
  105 411 115 745
Actif non financier    
          Médailles et cadeaux officiels 632 411 580 381
          Immobilisations (note 4) 451 131 416 831
  1 083 542 997 212
TOTAL DE L'ACTIF 1 188 953 1 112 957
PASSIF
   
          Créditeurs et frais courus (note 3) 279 005 920 736
          Salaires et avantages courus 1 096 952 1 043 905
          Produits reportés (note 5) 18 530 4 550
TOTAL DU PASSIF 1 394 487 1 969 191
PASSIF NET 205 534 856 234
TOTAL 1 188 953 1 112 957

Engagements (note 7)
Éventualités (note 8)

Les notes qui accompagnent les présents états financiers en constituent une partie intégrante.


État des résultats et du passif net (non vérifié)

pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars
(en dollars)

  2004 2003
  Produits
Note 6
Charges
Note 6
Coût net Produits
Note 6
Charges
Note 6
Coût net
Secteurs d'activités            
Gouverneur général 132 878 15 083 315 14 950 437 107 223 15 926 341 15 819 118
Distinctions 15 896 3 489 805 3 473 909 62 278 3 410 485 3 348 207
Anciens gouverneurs généraux   773 225 773 225   863 832 863 832
Total 148 774 19 346 345 19 197 571 169 501 20 200 658 20 031 157
Passif net au 1er avril           1 403 613
Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement           20 578 536
Passif net au 1er avril     205 534     856 234


État des flux de trésorerie

(en dollars)
pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars

  2004 2003
Flux de trésorerie des activités de fonctionnement
         Coût de fonctionnement net 19 197 571 20 031 157
         Postes sans incidence sur l'encaisse
           État des résultats
   
              Amortissement des immobilisations (113 648) (46 818)
              Gains sur la vente d'immobilisations - 6 000
           État de la situation financière    
              Augmentation (diminution) du passif 574 704 77 115

              Augmentation (diminution) de l'actif
              autre que les immobilisations

41 696 107 117
Besoins de trésorerie pour les activités de fonctionnement 19 700 323 20 174 571
     
Flux de trésorerie des activités d'investissement    
           Acquisition d'immobilisations 147 948 409 965
           Vente d'immobilisations - (6 000)
Besoins de trésorerie des activités d'investissement 147 948 403 965
Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement 19 848 271 20 578 536

Les notes qui accompagnent les présents états financiers en constituent une partie intégrante.


Notes relatives aux états financiers (non vérifiés)

pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2004

1. Autorisations et objectifs

Le Bureau du secrétaire du Gouverneur général (BSGG) a été constitué par lettres patentes le 1er octobre 1947. Le BSGG est un ministère aux termes de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, où il apparaît à l’annexe I.1.

Les principaux objectifs du BSGG sont les suivants : faire en sorte que la Gouverneure générale soit en mesure d’exercer ses rôles constitutionnels et traditionnels et administrer les activités reliées aux distinctions. Le Bureau assume également les dépenses relatives à la pension et aux activités des anciens gouverneurs généraux. À ces fins, les activités du BSGC sont réparties en trois secteurs :

(a) Gouverneure générale – administration du traitement de la Gouverneure générale, des coûts du programme d’activités annuel de la Gouverneure générale, y compris les visites au Canada et à l’étranger, du programme de l’accès des citoyens et des services aux visiteurs à Rideau Hall et des opérations du bureau et des résidences.

(b) Distinctions – administration des programmes de distinctions honorifiques nationales : l’Ordre du Canada, l’Ordre du mérite militaire, les décorations pour actes de bravoure, les décorations pour service méritoire, les médailles pour services distingués, les médailles du service spécial, les médailles commémoratives et autres médailles; administration de la médaille académique du gouverneur général et du Prix du Gouverneur général pour l’entraide; administration de l’autorité héraldique du Canada.

(c) Anciens gouverneurs généraux – activités exercées par les anciens gouverneurs généraux en raison du poste qu’ils ont occupé et administration des pensions des anciens gouverneurs généraux et de leurs conjoints et conjointes.

2. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

(a) Cadre de préparation

Ces tats financiers ont t prpars suivant la mthode de la comptabilit d'exercice, conformment aux Normes comptables du Conseil du Trsor, lesquelles sont fondes sur les principes comptables gnralement reconnus au Canada. La source principale de ces principes comptables rside dans les recommandations du Conseil sur la comptabilit dans le secteur public de l'Institut canadien des comptables agrs (ICCA). ces recommandations s'ajoutent les recommandations du Conseil des normes comptables de l'ICCA pour les situations non prvues par le Conseil sur la comptabilit dans le secteur public. Cependant, les lecteurs sont pris de noter que l'introduction de la comptabilit d'exercice l'chelle ministrielle est un processus volutif et que l'on ne prsente pas l'heure actuelle l'intgralit de l'actif, du passif et des dpenses attribuables au BSGC l'chelle ministrielle. Vus sous cet angle, les tats financiers ne sont pas ncessairement complets. Certains postes, comme une partie du Trsor, le passif du fonds de pension, les indemnits de dpart payer, la dpense des indemnits de dpart, sauf les dbourss, les services offerts gratuitement au BSGG, etc., ne sont pas constats. Tous ces lments d'actif, de passif et de dpenses sont consolids l'chelle gouvernementale dans les tats financiers du gouvernement du Canada. Les notes complmentaires prsentent plus de dtails et devraient tre lues attentivement.

(b) Trésor

Tous les ministres et organismes, y compris le BSGG, ont le Trsor pour cadre de fonctionnement. Le Trsor est administr par le Receveur gnral du Canada. Toutes les rentres de fonds sont dposes au Trsor et toutes les sorties de fonds sont imputes au Trsor.

(c) Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement

L'encaisse nette par le gouvernement est la diffrence entre toutes les rentres et les sorties de fonds, y compris les oprations interministrielles.

(d) Produits

Les produits sont comptabiliss dans l'exercice o les oprations ou les faits sous-jacents sont survenus. Les revenus dj encaisss mais non raliss sont divulgus comme produits reports. Ils se rapportent principalement aux activits de la Gouverneure gnrale. Ils sont comptabiliss comme produits au moment o l'activit a lieu et les dpenses connexes sont engages.

(e) Charges

Le BSGG passe les dépenses en charges au moment où les opérations ou les activités qui donnent lieu aux dépenses se produisent, sous réserve de ce qui suit :

  • Les indemnits de dpart des employs sont portes aux charges mesure qu'elles sont verses. Aucune somme estimative n'est constate. Ces avantages sont comptabiliss dans les tats financiers consolids du gouvernement du Canada.
  • Les congs annuels et les heures supplmentaires sont ports aux charges dans l'exercice au cours duquel l'employ les acquiert.
  • Les cotisations aux rgimes de pension sont constates dans l'exercice o ces cotisations sont verses. Les excdents ou les insuffisances actuariels ne sont pas inscrits dans les livres du BSGG, mais sont constats dans les tats financiers consolids du gouvernement du Canada. La contribution du BSGGau rgime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique pour l'exercice est 1 337 492 $;
  • Un certain nombre de ministres et d'organismes de l'administration fdrale appuient les activits de la Gouverneure gnrale et du Bureau dans le cadre de leur mandat. Le niveau de service et de soutien offert au Bureau du Gouverneur gnral est dtermin par chacune de ces entits, qui les impute son propre budget. Ces divers ministres et organismes sont responsables de la rpartition et de la gestion des fonds fournis pour appuyer les activits de la Gouverneure gnrale et du Bureau et sont assujettis aux lignes directrices du Conseil du Trsor. Les montants consacrs par ces ministres et organismes ne sont pas inscrits dans les comptes du Bureau du Gouverneur gnral. Les principaux ministres et organismes qui offrent des services de soutien sont : le Solliciteur gnral du Canada (GRC) services de protection et de scurit; le ministre de la Dfense nationale services de transport, de soutien aux crmonies, de soutien logistique et de photographie; le ministre des Affaires trangres et du Commerce international avis en matire de politique trangre et soutien aux visites de chefs d'tat; le ministre du Patrimoine canadien services de planification et d'animation de crmonies et d'occasions officielles, dont les visites royales et les funrailles nationales; Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada gestion de la Citadelle, rsidence officielle de la Gouverneure gnrale Qubec, et des bureaux de la chancellerie; et la Commission de la capitale nationale services de gestion immobilire. Les services reus des autres ministres et organismes ne sont pas consigns comme des charges de fonctionnement par le BSGG parce que l'information n'est pas disponible pour le moment et que leur estimation ne pourrait tre justifie avec suffisamment de prcision. Les contributions visant la part de l'employeur des primes d'assurances des employs et les cots supports par le Secrtariat du Conseil du Trsor ne sont pas consigns non plus.

(f) Débiteurs

Les comptes débiteurs sont consignés en fonction des montants que l’on prévoit réaliser.

(g) Stocks de la boutique de souvenirs

Ces stocks sont évalués soit au coût, soit à la valeur de réalisation nette, le montant le moins élevé étant retenu.

(h) Médailles et cadeaux officiels

Les médailles de l’insigne de l’Ordre du Canada et des autres distinctions, conservées en vue d’une distribution future, sont consignées à leur coût original.

(i) Immobilisations

Tous les lments d'actif considrs comme des immobilisations suivant les recommandations du Conseil sur la comptabilit dans le secteur public ainsi que les amliorations locatives dont le cot initial est d'au moins 5 000 $ sont comptabiliss selon leur cot d'achat. Les immobilisations n'incluent pas les biens incorporels, les uvres d'art, les trsors historiques ayant une valeur culturelle, esthtique ou historique.

Les immobilisations sont amorties selon une mthode linaire sur la dure de vie utile estimative de l'immobilisation, comme suit :

Catégorie

Période d’amortissement

Matériel informatique

3 ans

Véhicules

5 ans

Logiciels

7 ans

(j) Assurance

Le BSGG n’est pas assuré, étant donné que la politique du gouvernement du Canada est de s’auto-assurer.

(k) Rentes versées aux anciens gouverneurs généraux

Conformment aux dispositions de la Loi sur le Gouverneur gnral et de la Loi sur les prestations de retraite supplmentaires, des rentes imposables sont verses 1) aux anciens gouverneurs gnraux et ii) leurs conjoints survivants. Ces rentes sont indexes annuellement selon l'indice des prix la consommation et constates dans la priode o leur paiement est exigible. Pour l'exercice 2003-2004, ces paiements s'lvent 280 259 $.

(l) Opérations en devises

Les opérations effectuées en devises étrangères sont converties en dollars canadiens au taux de change en vigueur à la date des opérations.

(m) Incertitude de l’évaluation

La prparation des tats financiers oblige la direction effectuer des estimations et formuler des hypothses qui influent sur l'actif, le passif, les produits et les charges consigns dans les tats financiers. Au moment de la prparation des prsents tats financiers, la direction considrait que les estimations et les hypothses taient raisonnables. L'amortissement des immobilisations est l'lment le plus important pour lequel on a eu recours des estimations.

3. Débiteurs et créditeurs

Les comptes débiteurs et créditeurs d’autres ministères et d’entités externes non apparentées sont les suivants :

  2004 2003
  (en dollars)  
Débiteurs :    
Entités externes 10 500 11 500
Autres ministères 833 16 169
Total 11 333 27 669
 
Créditeurs et autres éléments de passif :    
Autres ministères 46 376 288 770
External Parties 232 629 631 966
Total 279 005 920 736

4. Immobilisation

  Logiciels Matériel
informatique
Véhicules Total
 
(en dollars)
Solde d'ouverture au
1er avril 2003
 
     Coût 135 776 329 764 214 860 680 400
     Amortissement cumulé - 167 923 95 646 263 569
     Valeur nette comptable 135 776 161 841 119 214 416 831
Opérations de 2003-2004        
     Ajouts - 147 948 - 147 948
     Aliénations nettes - - - -
     Radiations nettes - - - -
    Amortissement
19 397 76 786 17 465 113 648
Solde de fermeture au
31 mars 2004
       
     Coût
135 776 477 712 214 860 828 348
     Amortissement cumulé
19 397 244 709 113 111 377 217
     Valeur comptable nette 116 379 233 003 101 749 451 131
 

5. Produits reportés

Ce compte a été créé afin de constater les cadeaux, dons ou legs faits à Rideau Hall par des organisations privées ou des particuliers en vue de financer des initiatives précises.

  2004   2003
  (en dollars)
Solde d'ouverture 4 550   -
Plus : Dépôts 13 980   4 550
Moins : Paiements -   -
Solde de fermeture 18 530   4 550

6. Résumé des produits et charges par grande catégorie

Voici un résumé des produits et charges pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2004

  2004   2003
Produits (en dollars)
Boutique de souvenirs 103,902   101,223
Divers 44,872   68,278
Total 148,774   169,501
   
Charges
Salaires et avantages sociaux 12,746,650   12,238,388
Matériel et fournitures 1,999,720   2,209,761
Services professionnels divers 1,112,958   1,055,779
Déplacements 1,000,978   1,417,683
Services professionnels 955,113   1,572,791
Services d'information 628,629   845,640
Télécommunications 373,779   280,172
Locations 227,547   283,623
Affranchissement, transport et camionnage 117,824   150,940
Amortissement d'immobilisations 113,648   46,818
Divers 69,499   99,063
Total 19,346,345   20,200,658

7. Engagements

Le BSGG n’a aucun engagement notable à déclarer.

8. Éventualités

Dans le cours normal de ses activits, le BSGG peut tre vis par diverses actions en justice. Certaines obligations ventuelles peuvent devenir des obligations relles, selon que certains vnements se raliseront ou non. Dans la mesure o l'vnement futur risque fort de se produire ou de ne pas se produire, et o l'on peut tablir une estimation raisonnable de la perte, un passif estimatif est constat et une charge enregistre dans les tats financiers consolids du gouvernement. Le passif estimatif n'est pas port aux tats financiers du BSGG tant que son montant n'est pas tabli avec certitude.

9. Opérations avec apparentés

Le BSGG est une proprit commune du gouvernement du Canada, comme tous les ministres et les socits d'tat. Le BSGG effectue des oprations avec ces entits dans le cours normal de ses activits et selon les modalits commerciales usuelles, sauf pour les services offerts gratuitement dj numrs.

10. Crédits parlementaires

Le BSGG est financ par des crdits parlementaires du gouvernement du Canada, fonds dans une large mesure sur les besoins de trsorerie. Il est possible que les postes consigns l'tat des rsultats d'un exercice soient financs par les crdits parlementaires des exercices antrieurs ou ultrieurs. Ainsi, le BSGG prsente un tat des rsultats pour l'exercice dtermins partir du financement du gouvernement qui est diffrent de celui qui serait prsent selon les principes comptables gnralement reconnus. Les diffrences sont rapproches comme suit :

(a) Rapprochement entre les coûts de fonctionnement nets 2004 2003 et les crédits

  2004   2003
    (en dollars)  
Coût de fonctionnement net 19 197 571   20 031 157
Rajustements      
Postes avec incidence sur les résultats nets et sans incidence sur les crédits      
Moins : Charges sans incidence sjur les crédits ncidences sur les crédits      
Médailles et cadeaux officiels distribués 272 445   261 090
Congés payés accumulés par les emloyés 172 805   256 493
Amortissement 113 648   46 818
Stocks utilisés 74 241   60 143
Honoraires juridiques du ministère de la Justice 810   -
  633 949   624 544
       
Plus : Produits sans incidence sur les crédits 148 774   169 501
  18 712 396   19 576 114
       
Postes sans incidence sur les résultats nets et avec incidence sur les crédits      
Plus : Achat de médailles et de cadeaux officiels 307 424   289 479
Achat d'immobilisations 147 948   409 966
Paiements de congés aux employés 104 447   204 486
Achat de marchandises pour la boutique de souvenirs 60 844   95 655
Avances versées aux employés (1 000)   -
  619 663   999 586
       
Total des crédits parlementaires utilisés 19 332 059   20 575 700
 

(b) Crédits parlementaires consentis et utilisés

  Appropriations Provided Appropriations Used
  2004 2003 2004 2003
  (en dollars)
Program expenditures 17 151 001 18 645 250 17 062 782 18 265 356
Statutory amounts 2 269 586 2 310 653 2 269 277 2 310 344
         
Total 19 420 587 20 955 903 19 332 059 20 575 700
Mise à jour : 2018-03-26
Avis importants
haut de la page
haut de la page