www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Governor General of Canada / Gouverneur général du Canadaa
Print

 

 

Appendix B - Financial Statements of the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General

Financial Statements of the
Office of the Secretary to the Governor General

For the Year Ended March 31, 2005

Office of the Secretary to the Governor General
Management's Responsibility for the Financial Statements

Responsibility for the integrity and objectivity of the accompanying financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2005, and all information contained in this report rests with the management of the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General.

These statements, which include amounts based on management's best estimates as determined through experience and judgment, have been prepared in accordance with Treasury Board Accounting Standards based upon generally accepted accounting principles in Canada. Readers of these statements are cautioned that the financial statements are not necessarily complete; certain liabilities and expenses are only recorded at a government-wide level at this time. These statements should be read within the context of the significant accounting policies set out in the Notes.

Management has developed and maintains books, records, internal controls and management practices, designed to provide reasonable assurance that the government's assets are safeguarded and controlled, resources are managed economically and efficiently in the attainment of corporate objectives, and transactions are in accordance with the Financial Administration Act and regulations as well as with the policies and statutory requirements of the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General.

_____________________________
Barbara Uteck
Secretary to the Governor General
and Herald Chancellor

_____________________________
JoAnn MacKenzie
Director General, Corporate Services



Statement of Financial Position (unaudited)

As at March 31
(dollars)

2005 2004
ASSETS    
Financial assets:    
          Cash 9,512 22,273
          Accounts receivable (note 3) 163,830 11,333
          Gift shop inventory 66,780 71,805
  240,122 105,411
Non-financial assets:    
          Medals and official gifts 569,749 632,411
          Capital assets (note 4) 457,594 451,131
  1,027,343 1,083,542
TOTAL ASSETS 1,267,465 1,188,953
LIABILITIES
   
          Accounts payable and accrued
          liabilities (note 3)
568,384 279,005
          Accrued salaries and benefits 1,597,189 1,096,952
          Deferred revenue (note 5) 4,450 18,530
TOTAL LIABILITIES 2,170,023 1,394,487
NET LIABILITIES 902,558 205,534
TOTAL 1,267,465 1,188,953

Contingencies (note 7)

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these financial statements


Statement of Operations and Net Liabilities (unaudited)

For the year ended March 31
(dollars)

  2005 2004
  Revenues
Note 6
Expenses
Note 6
Net
Cost
Revenues
Note 6
Expenses
Note 6
Net
Cost
Business Line            
Governor General 171,880 14,417,680 14,245,800 132,878 15,083,315 14,950,437
Honours 25,999 3,421,301 3,395,302 15,896 3,489,805 3,473,909
Former Governors General   568,954 568,954   773,225 773,225
Total 197,879 18,407,935 18,210,056 148,774 19,346,345 19,197,571
Net liabilities, April 1     205,534     856,234
Net cash provided by Government     17,513,032     19,848,271
Net liabilities, March 31     902,558     205,534

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these financial statements.


Statement of Cash Flows (unaudited)

(dollars)
For the year ended March 31
(dollars)

  2005 2004
Operating transactions
         Net cost of operations 18,210,056 19,197,571

Adjustments for items not affecting cash

           Statement of Operations
   
              Amortization of capital assets (162,310) (113,648)
              Gain on disposal of capital assets - 6,000
           Statement of Financial Position    
              Decrease (increase) in liabilities (775,536) 574,704
              Increase (decrease) in assets other
              than capital assets
72,049 41,696
Cash applied to operating transactions 17,344,259 19,700,323
     
Capital transactions    
           Acquisitions of capital assets 168,773 147,948
           Sale of capital assets - -
Cash applied to capital transactions 168,773 147,948
Net Cash Provided by Government 17,513,032 19,848,271


Notes to the Financial Statements (unaudited)

For the year ended March 31, 2004

1. Authority and Objectives

The Office of the Secretary to the Governor General (OSGG) was constituted through letters patent on October 1, 1947. The OSGG is defined as an agency by virtue of being listed in Schedule 1.1 of the Financial Administration Act.

The primary objectives of the OSGG are to enable the governor general to perform his or her constitutional and traditional roles and to provide the administration of Honours. The Office also provides for expenditures in respect of pensions and activities performed by former governors general. To reflect these objectives, the operations of the OSGG are divided into three business lines:

  1. Governor General - provides for the governor general's salary; the costs of the governor general's annual program, including visits in Canada and abroad; the citizen access and visitor services program at Rideau Hall, and the operation of the office and residences;
  2. Honours - provides for the administration of programs in the National Honours System, including the Order of Canada, the Order of Military Merit, Canadian Bravery Decorations, Meritorious Service Decorations, Exemplary Service Medals, Special Service Medals, commemorative and other medals; provides for the administration of the Governor General's Academic Medals and the Governor General's Caring Canadian Awards; and provides for the administration of the Canadian Heraldic Authority; and,
  3. Former Governors General - provides for the activities performed by former governors general, which devolve upon them as a result of their having occupied that office, and the pensions of former governors general or their spouses.

2. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

(a) Basis of Preparation

These financial statements have been prepared on an accrual basis of accounting in accordance with Treasury Board Accounting Standards. These Standards are based on generally accepted accounting principles in Canada. The primary source of the accounting principles is the recommendations of the Public Sector Accounting Board of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants supplemented by the recommendations of the Accounting Standards Board of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants for situations not covered by the Public Sector Accounting Board. Readers of these statements are cautioned that the introduction of accrual accounting at the departmental level is evolutionary. Not all assets, liabilities and expenses applicable to the OSGG are recorded at the departmental level at this time. Items such as a portion of the Consolidated Revenue Fund, pension fund liabilities, severance pay liabilities, severance pay expenses except for cash payments, and services provided without charge are not recorded. As such, the financial statements are not necessarily complete. However, all such assets, liabilities and expenses are recorded in the financial statements of the Government of Canada. The Notes that follow provide additional detail and should be read with care.

(b) Consolidated Revenue Fund

All departments and agencies, including the OSGG, operate within the Consolidated Revenue Fund (CRF), which is administered by the Receiver General for Canada. All cash receipts and all cash disbursements made by the OSGG flow through the CRF.

(c) Net Cash Provided by Government

This is the difference between all cash receipts and all cash disbursements, including transactions with other departments made by the OSGG during the year.

(d) Revenue

These are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event occurred that gave rise to the revenues. Revenues received but not earned are recorded as deferred revenue and are primarily related to governor general events. They are recorded as revenue when the event is held and related expenditures are incurred.

(e) Expenses

The OSGG records expenses when the underlying transaction or event giving rise to the expense occurred, subject to the following:

  • Employee severance benefits are expensed as paid; no estimated accruals are recorded; accruals of these benefits are recognized in the consolidated financial statements of the Government of Canada;
  • Vacation pay and overtime are expensed in the year in which the entitlement occurs;
  • Contributions to superannuation plans are recognized in the period in which the contributions are made; actuarial surpluses or deficiencies are not recorded in the OSGG's books but are recognized in the consolidated financial statements of the Government of Canada. The OSGG's contribution to the Public Service Superannuation Plan in fiscal year 2004-05 was $1,388,749;
  • A certain number of federal departments and agencies support the activities of the governor general and the Office as part of their mandate. The level of support and services provided to the Office of the Governor General is determined by each of the contributors and funded out of the budgets of those organizations. The various contributing departments and agencies are responsible for allocating and managing the funds that they provide to support the activities of the governor general and the Office and are subject to Treasury Board guidelines. The amounts spent by the departments and agencies in question do not appear in the accounts of the Office of the Governor General.
  • The major departments and agencies providing support include: the Solicitor General of Canada (RCMP) for protective/security services; the Department of National Defence for transportation services, ceremonial support, logistical support and photographic services; Foreign Affairs Canada for foreign policy advice and foreign/State visit support; the Department of Canadian Heritage for planning and conduct of State and ceremonial occasions, including royal visits and State funerals; Public Works and Government Services Canada for management of La Citadelle, the Governor General's official residence in Quebec City, and for office accommodation for the Chancellery; and the National Capital Commission for property management services.
  • Support provided by these government departments and agencies is not recorded as operating expenses by the OSGG at the present time. The information is not currently available to the OSGG and any estimate could not be substantiated with any degree of precision. Contributions covering employer's share of employees' insurance premiums and costs paid by the Treasury Board Secretariat are also not recorded.

(f) Receivables

Receivables are stated at amounts that are expected to be ultimately realized.

(g) Gift Shop Inventory

Gift shop inventory is valued at the lower of cost and net realizable value.

(h) Medals and Official Gifts

Medals for the Order of Canada insignia and other honours, held for distribution in the future, are recorded at original cost.

(i) Capital Assets

All assets treated as capital assets under Public Sector Accounting Board Recommendations plus leasehold improvements, having an initial cost of $5,000 or more, are recorded at their acquisition cost. Only informatics software costs incurred since April 2001 are recorded as capital assets.

Capital assets do not include intangibles, works of art and historical treasures that have cultural, aesthetic or historical value.

The OSGG capitalizes capital assets on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the capital asset as follows:

Asset Class

Amortization Period

Informatics hardware

3 years

Motor vehicles

5 years

Informatics software

7 years

(j) Insurance

The OSGG does not carry insurance since it is the policy of the Government of Canada to self-insure.

(k) Annuity Payments to Former Governors General

Pursuant to provisions contained within the Governor General's Act and the Supplementary Retirement Benefits Act, taxable annuities are paid to: (i) former governors general; and (ii) surviving spouses of former governors general. These annuities are indexed annually to the Consumer Price Index and are recognized in the period in which payment is due. In the 2004-05 fiscal year, such payments amounted to $288,350.

(l) Foreign currency transactions

Transactions involving foreign currencies are translated into Canadian dollar equivalents using rates of exchange in effect at the time of those transactions.

(m) Measurement Uncertainty

The preparation of financial statements requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses reported in the financial statements. At the time of preparation of these statements, management believes the estimates and assumptions to be reasonable. The most significant item where estimates are used is amortization of capital assets.

3. Accounts Receivable and Payables

The accounts receivable and accounts payable with other government departments and unrelated external parties are as follows:

  2005 2004
  (dollars)  
Accounts Receivable:    
External Parties 10,500 10,500
Other Government Departments 153,330 833
Total 163,830 11,333
 
Accounts Payable and Accrued Liabilities:    
Other Government Departments 137,942 46,376
External Parties 430,442 232,629
Total 568,384 279,005

4. Capital Assets

  Informatics Software Informatics Hardware Vehicles Total
 
(dollars)
Opening April 1, 2004  
     Cost 135,776 477,712 214,860 828,348
     Accumulated Amortization 19,397 244,709 113,111 377,217
     Net Carrying Cost 116,379 233,003 101,749 451,131
2004-05 transactions        
     Additions 28,720 140,053 - 168,773
     Net Disposals - - - -
     Net write-downs - - - -
     Amortization
19,396 122,451 20,463 162,310
Closing March 31, 2005
       
     Cost
164,496 617,765 214,860 997,121
     Accumulated Amortization
38,793 367,160 133,574 539,527
     Net Carrying Cost 125,703 250,605 81,286 457,594
 

5. Deferred Revenue

This account has been established to record gifts, donations or bequests to Rideau Hall from private organizations and individuals to fund specific initiatives.

  2005   2004
  (dollars)
Opening Balance 18,530   4,550
Add: Deposits -   13,980
Less: Payments 14,080   -
Closing Balance 4,450   18,530

6. Summary of Revenues and Expenses by Major Classification

A summary of revenues and expenses for the year ended March 31 is as follows:

  2005   2004
Revenues (dollars)
Gift Shop 130,184   103,902
Other 67,695   44,872
Total Expenses 197,879   148,774
     
Salaries and employee benefits 13,140,657   12,746,650
Materials and supplies 1,495,100   1,999,720
Other Business Services 643,647   1,112,958
Travel 895,941   1,000,978
Professional services 776,991   955,113
Information services 669,621   628,629
Telecommunications 357,058   373,779
Rentals 121,455   227,547
Postage, Freight and Cartage 162,310   117,824
Amortization of capital assets 78,198   113,648
Miscellaneous 66,957   69,499
Total 18,407,935   19,346,345

7. Contingencies

In the normal course of its operations, the OSGG may become involved in various legal actions. Some of these potential liabilities may become actual liabilities when one or more future events occur or fail to occur. To the extent that the future event is likely to occur or that it fails to occur, and a reasonable estimate of the loss can be made, an estimated liability is accrued and an expense recorded on the government's consolidated financial statements. These estimated liabilities are not recognized on the OSGG's financial statement as a liability until the amount of the liability is firmly established.

8. Related Party Transactions

The OSGG is related in terms of common ownership to all Government of Canada departments and agencies and Crown corporations. The OSGG enters into transactions with these entities in the normal course of business and on normal trade terms except for those services provided without charge as previously identified.

9. Parliamentary Appropriations

The OSGG receives its funding through parliamentary appropriations, which is based primarily on cash flow requirements. Items recognized on the Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary appropriations in prior and future years. Accordingly, the OSGG has net results of operations for the year on a government-funding basis that differ from generally accepted accounting principles in Canada. These differences are reconciled below.

(a) Reconciliation to net cost of operations

  2005   2004
    (dollars)  
Net cost of operations 18,210,056   19,197,571
Adjustments:      
Items affecting Net Results but not affecting Appropriations      
Less:Expenses not affecting appropriations      
Medals and official gifts issued 282,858   272,445
Employee leave benefits earned 63,885   172,805
Amortization 162,310   113,648
Inventory used 84,411   74,241
Department of Justice legal fees 855   810
  594,319   633,949
       
Add: Revenue not affecting appropriations 195,170   148,774
  17,810,907   18,712,396
       
Items not affecting Net Results but affecting Appropriations      
Add: Purchase of medals and official gifts 190,292   307,424
Capital acquisitions 168,773   147,948
Payments of employee leave benefits 115,634   104,447
Purchase of gift shop inventory 72,788   60,844
Employee advances     (1,000)
  547,487   619,663
       
Total Parliamentary appropriations used 18,358,394   19,332,059
 

(b) Parliamentary appropriations provided and used

  Appropriations Provided Appropriations Used
  2005 2004 2005 2004
  (dollars)
Program expenditures 16,296,900 17,151,001 16,060,915 17,062,782
Statutory amounts 2,297,479 2,269,586 2,297,479 2,269,277
         
Total 18,594,379 19,420,587 18,358,394 19,332,059
Updated: 2018-03-26
Important Notices
top of page
top of page

www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Gouverneur général du Canada / Governor General of Canada
Imprimer

 

 

Annexe B

États financiers du
Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général

Pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2005

Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général
Responsabilité de la direction à l'égard des états financiers

La responsabilité de l'ntégrité et de l'objectivité des états financiers ci-joints pour l'exercice financier terminé le 31 mars 2005 et de toute l'information figurant dans le présent rapport incombe à la direction du Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général.

La direction a préparé les états financiers conformément aux Normes comptables du Conseil du Trésor, fondées sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada, et le cas échéant, selon les meilleures estimations possibles fondées sur le jugement et l'expérience. Une mise en garde s'impose toutefois : les états financiers ne sont pas forcément complets car certaines dépenses et certains passifs ne sont consignés, en ce moment, qu'à l'échelle de l'administration fédérale. Les présents états financiers devraient aussi être consultés au regard des conventions comptables décrites dans les notes.

La direction a préparé et tient à jour des livres, des registres, des mécanismes de contrôle interne et des pratiques de gestion pour donner une assurance raisonnable que les éléments d'actif du gouvernement sont protégés et contrôlés, que les ressources sont gérées de façon économique et efficace aux fins de la réalisation des objectifs ministériels et que les opérations sont exécutées conformément à la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et à ses règlements et conformément aux politiques et aux obligations légales du Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général.

_____________________________
Barbara Uteck
La secrétaire de la Gouverneure générale
et chancelière d'armes,



_____________________________
JoAnn MacKenzie
La directrice générale des Service
ministériels,





État de la situation financière (non vérifié)

au 31 mars
(en dollars)

2005 2004
ACTIF    
Actif financier    
          Liquidités 9 512 22 273
          Débiteurs (note 3) 163 830 11 333
          Stocks - boutique de souvenirs 66 780 71 805
  240 122 105 411
Actif non financier    
          Médailles et cadeaux officiels 569 749 632 411
          Immobilisations (note 4) 457 594 451 131
  1 027 343 1 083 542
TOTAL DE L'ACTIF 1 267 465 1 188 953
PASSIF
   
          Créditeurs et frais courus (note 3) 568 384 279 005
          Salaires et avantages courus 1 597 189 1 096 952
          Produits reportés (note 5) 4 450 18 530
TOTAL DU PASSIF 2 170 023 1 394 487
PASSIF NET 902 558 205 534
TOTAL 1 267 465 1 188 953

Engagements (note 7)

Les notes qui accompagnent les présents états financiers en constituent une partie intégrante.


État des résultats et du passif net (non vérifié)

pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars
(en dollars)

  2005 2004
  Produits
Note 6
Charges
Note 6
Coût net Produits
Note 6
Charges
Note 6
Coût net
Secteurs d'activités            
Gouverneur général 171 880 14 417 680 14 245 800 132 878 15 083 315 14 950 437
Distinctions 25 999 3 421 301 3 395 302 15 896 3 489 805 3 473 909
Anciens gouverneurs généraux   568 954 568 954   773 225 773 225
Total 197 879 18 407 935 18 210 056 148 774 19 346 345 19 197 571
Passif net au 1er avril     205 534     856 234
Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement     17 513 032     19 848 271
Passif net au
1er avril
    902 558     205 534


État des flux de trésorerie (non vérifié)

pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars
(en dollars)

  2005 2004
Flux de trésorerie des activités de fonctionnement
         Coût de fonctionnement net 18 210 056 19 197 571
         Postes sans incidence sur l'encaisse
           État des résultats
   
              Amortissement des immobilisations (162 310) (113 648)
              Gains sur la vente d'immobilisations - -
           État de la situation financière    
              Augmentation (diminution) du passif (775 536) 574 704

              Augmentation (diminution) de l'actif
              autre que les immobilisations

72 049 41 696
Besoins de trésorerie pour les activités de fonctionnement 17 344 259 19 700 323
     
Flux de trésorerie des activités d'investissement    
           Acquisition d'immobilisations 168 773 147 948
           Vente d'immobilisations - -
Besoins de trésorerie pour les activités d'investissement 168 773 147 948
Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement 17 513 032 19 848 271

Les notes qui accompagnent les présents états financiers en constituent une partie intégrante.


Notes relatives aux états financiers (non vérifiés)

Pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2005

1. Autorisations et objectifs

Le Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général (BSGG) a été constitué par lettres patentes le 1er octobre 1947. Le BSGG est un ministère aux termes de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, où il figure à l'annexe 1.1.

Les principaux objectifs du BSGG sont les suivants : faire en sorte que la gouverneure générale soit en mesure d'exercer ses rôles constitutionnels et traditionnels et administrer les activités reliées aux distinctions. Le Bureau assume également les dépenses relatives à la pension et aux activités des anciens gouverneurs généraux. À ces fins, les activités du BSGG sont réparties en trois secteurs :

  1. Gouverneure générale - administration du traitement de la gouverneure générale, des coûts du programme annuel d'activités de la gouverneure générale, y compris les visites au Canada et à l'étranger, du programme de l'accès des citoyens et des services aux visiteurs à Rideau Hall et des opérations du bureau et des résidences.
  2. Distinctions - administration des programmes de distinctions honorifiques nationales, y compris l'Ordre du Canada, l'Ordre du mérite militaire, les Décorations pour actes de bravoure, les Décorations pour service méritoire, les Médailles pour services distingués, les Médailles du service spécial, les Médailles commémoratives et autres médailles; administration des Médailles académiques du Gouverneur général et du Prix du Gouverneur général pour l'entraide; administration de l'Autorité héraldique du Canada.
  3. Anciens gouverneurs généraux - activités exercées par les anciens gouverneurs généraux en raison du poste qu'ils ont occupé et administration des pensions des anciens gouverneurs généraux et de leurs conjoints et conjointes.

2. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

(a) Cadre de préparation

Les présents états financiers ont été préparés suivant la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice, conformément aux Normes comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles sont fondées sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada. La source principale de ces principes comptables réside dans les recommandations du Conseil sur la comptabilité dans le secteur public de l'Institut canadien des comptables agréés (ICCA). À ces recommandations s'ajoutent les recommandations du Conseil des normes comptables de l'ICCA pour les situations non prévues par le Conseil sur la comptabilité dans le secteur public. Cependant, les lecteurs sont priés de noter que l'introduction de la comptabilité d'exercice à l'échelle ministérielle est un processus évolutif et que l'on ne présente pas à l'heure actuelle l'intégralité de l'actif, du passif et des dépenses attribuables au BSGG à l'échelle ministérielle. Certains postes, comme une partie du Trésor, le passif du fonds de pension, les indemnités de départ à payer, la dépense des indemnités de départ, sauf les déboursés, les services offerts gratuitement au BSGG, etc., ne sont pas consignés. Vu sous cet angle, les états financiers ne sont pas nécessairement complets. Tous ces éléments d'actif, de passif et de dépenses sont cependant consolidés à l'échelle gouvernementale dans les états financiers du gouvernement du Canada. Les notes complémentaires présentent plus de détails et devraient être lues attentivement.

(b) Trésor

Tous les ministères et organismes, y compris le BSGG, ont le Trésor pour cadre de fonctionnement. Le Trésor est administré par le Receveur général du Canada. Toutes les recettes réalisées par le BSGG sont déposées au Trésor et tous les décaissements de fonds sont imputés au Trésor.

(c) Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement

L'encaisse nette par le gouvernement est la différence entre toutes les recettes et les décaissements de fonds, y compris les opérations interministérielles effectuées par le BSGG au cours de l'exercice.

(d) Recettes

Les recettes sont comptabilisées dans l'exercice au cours duquel les opérations ou les événements ayant produit ces recettes ont eu lieu. Les revenus déjà encaissés mais non réalisés sont divulgués comme recettes reportées. Ils se rapportent principalement aux activités de la gouverneure générale. et sont comptabilisés comme recettes lorsque l'activité a lieu et les dépenses connexes sont engagées.

(e) Charges

Le BSGG inscrit les dépenses comme charges au moment où les opérations ou les activités qui leur donnent lieu se produisent, sous réserve de ce qui suit :

  • Les indemnités de départ des employés sont imputées comme charges à mesure qu'elles sont versées. Aucune somme estimative n'est consignée. Ces avantages sont comptabilisés dans les états financiers consolidés du gouvernement du Canada.
  • Les congés annuels et les heures supplémentaires sont imputés comme charges dans l'exercice au cours duquel l'employé les acquiert.
  • Les cotisations aux régimes de pension sont consignées dans l'exercice au cours duquel elles sont versées. Les insuffisances ou les excédents actuariels ne sont pas inscrits dans les livres du BSGG, mais sont consignés dans les états financiers consolidés du gouvernement du Canada. La contribution du BSGG au régime de pension de retraite de la fonction publique pour l'exercice 2004-2005 s'est élevée à 1 388 749 $;
  • Un certain nombre de ministères et d'organismes de l'administration fédérale appuient les activités de la gouverneure générale et du Bureau dans le cadre de leur mandat. Le niveau de service et de soutien offert au Bureau du Gouverneur général est déterminé par chacune de ces entités, qui les impute à son propre budget. Ces divers ministères et organismes sont responsables de la répartition et de la gestion des fonds fournis pour appuyer les activités de la gouverneure générale et du Bureau et sont assujettis aux lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor. Les montants consacrés par ces ministères et organismes ne sont pas inscrits dans les comptes du Bureau du gouverneur général.
  • Les principaux ministères et organismes qui offrent des services de soutien sont : le Solliciteur général du Canada - GRC (services de protection et de sécurité); le ministère de la Défense nationale (services de transport, soutien aux cérémonies, soutien logistique et photographie); Affaires étrangères Canada (avis en matière de politique étrangère et soutien aux visites de chefs d'État); le ministère du Patrimoine canadien (services de planification et d'animation de cérémonies et d'événements officiels, dont les visites royales et les funérailles nationales); Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (gestion de la Citadelle, résidence officielle de la Gouverneure générale à Québec, et des bureaux de la chancellerie); et la Commission de la capitale nationale (services de gestion immobilière).
  • À l'heure actuelle, les services reçus des autres ministères et organismes ne sont pas consignés comme des charges de fonctionnement par le BSGG. Le BSGG ne dispose pas de l'information nécessaire et une estimation ne pourrait être que très imprécise. Les contributions visant la part de l'employeur des primes d'assurances des employés et les coûts supportés par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor ne sont pas consignés non plus.

(f) Comptes débiteurs

Les comptes débiteurs sont consignés en fonction des montants que l'on prévoit réaliser.

(g) Stocks de la boutique de souvenirs

Ces stocks sont évalués soit au coût, soit à la valeur de réalisation nette, le montant le moins élevé étant retenu.

(h) Médailles et cadeaux officiels

Les médailles de l'insigne de l'Ordre du Canada et des autres distinctions conservées en vue d'une distribution future sont consignées à leur coût original.

(i) Immobilisations

Tous les éléments d'actif considérés comme des immobilisations suivant les recommandations du Conseil sur la comptabilité dans le secteur public et toutes les améliorations locatives dont le coût initial est d'au moins 5 000 $ sont comptabilisés. Pour ce qui est de l'achat de logiciels, seules les dépenses engagées depuis avril 2001 sont consignées comme des immobilisations. Les immobilisations n'incluent pas les biens incorporels, les uvres d'art et les trésors historiques ayant une valeur culturelle, esthétique ou historique. Les immobilisations sont amorties selon une méthode linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l'immobilisation, comme suit :

Catégorie

Période d'amortissement

Matériel informatique

3 ans

Véhicules

5 ans

Logiciels

7 ans

(j) Assurance

Le BSGG n'est pas assuré étant donné que le gouvernement du Canada a pour politique de s'auto-assurer.

(k) Rentes versées aux anciens gouverneurs généraux

Conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur le Gouverneur général et de la Loi sur les prestations de retraite supplémentaires, des rentes imposables sont versées (i) aux anciens gouverneurs généraux et (ii) à leurs conjoints survivants. Ces rentes sont indexées annuellement selon l'indice des prix à la consommation et consignées dans l'exercice au cours duquel leur paiement est exigible. Pour l'exercice 2004-2005, ces paiements s'élèvent à 288 350 $.

(l) Opérations en devises étrangères

Les opérations effectuées en devises étrangères sont converties en dollars canadiens au taux de change en vigueur à la date des opérations.

(m) Estimations

La préparation des états financiers oblige la direction à effectuer des estimations et à formuler des hypothèses qui influent sur l'actif, le passif, les recettes et les charges consignés dans les états financiers. Au moment de la préparation des présents états financiers, la direction considérait que les estimations et les hypothèses étaient raisonnables. L'amortissement des immobilisations est l'élément le plus important pour lequel on a eu recours à des estimations.

3. Comptes débiteurs et créditeurs

Les comptes débiteurs et créditeurs d'autres ministères et d'entités externes non apparentées sont les suivants :

  2005 2004
  (dollars)  
Comptes débiteurs    
Entités externes 10 500 10 500
Autres ministères 153 330 833
Total 163 830 11 333
 
Créditeurs et autres éléments de passif :    
Autres ministères 137 942 46 376
Entités externes 430 442 232 629
Total 568 384 279 005

4. Immobilisation

  Logiciels Matériel
informatique
Véhicules Total
 
(en dollars)
Solde d'ouverture au
1er avril 2004
 
     Coût 135 776 477 712 214 860 828 348
     Amortissement cumulé 19 397 244 709 113 111 377 217
     Valeur nette comptable 116 379 233 003 101 749 451 131
Opérations de 2004-2005        
     Ajouts 28 720 140 053 - 168 773
     Aliénations nettes - - - -
     Radiations nettes - - - -
    Amortissement
19 396 122 451 20 463 162 310
Solde de fermeture au
31 mars 2005
       
     Coût
164 496 617 765 214 860 997 121
     Amortissement cumulé
38 793 367 160 133 574 539 527
     Valeur comptable nette 125 703 250 605 81 286 457 594
 

5. Recettes reportées

Ce compte a été créé pour qu'on puisse y consigner les cadeaux, dons ou legs faits à Rideau Hall par des organisations privées ou des particuliers en vue de financer des activités précises.

  2005   2004
  (dollars)
Solde d'ouverture 18 530   4 550
Plus : Dépôts -   13 980
Moins : Paiements 14 080   -
Solde de fermeture 4 450   18 530

6. Résumé des recettes et des charges par grande catégorie

Voici un résumé des recettes et des charges pour l'exercice qui s'est terminé le 31 mars 2005

  2005   2004
Recettes (dollars)
Boutique de souvenirs 130 184   103 902
Divers 67 695   44 872
Total 197 879   148 774
   
Charges
Salaires et avantages sociaux 13 140 657   12 746 650
Matériel et fournitures 1 495 100   1 999 720
Services professionnels divers 643 647   1 112 958
Déplacements 895 941   1 000 978
Services professionnels 776 991   955 113
Services d'information 669 621   628 629
Télécommunications 357 058   373 779
Locations 121 455   227 547
Amortissement d'immobilisations 162 310   117 824
Affranchissement, transport et camionnage 78 198   113 648
Divers 66 957   69 499
Total 18 407 935   19 346 345

7. Éventualités

Dans le cours normal de ses activités, le BSGG peut être visé par diverses actions en justice. Certaines obligations éventuelles peuvent devenir des obligations réelles selon que certains événements se produisent ou ne se produisent pas. Dans la mesure où l'événement futur risque de se produire ou qu'il se produit et que l'on peut calculer avec une certaine exactitude la valeur de la perte qui en découle, un passif estimatif est constaté et imputé comme une charge dans les états financiers consolidés du gouvernement. Le passif estimatif n'est pas consigné dans les états financiers du BSGG tant que son montant n'est pas établi avec certitude.

8. Opérations avec apparentés

Le BSGG est apparenté à tous les ministères et à toutes les sociétés d'État du gouvernement du Canada au titre de la propriété commune. Le BSGG effectue des opérations avec ces entités dans le cours normal de ses activités et selon les modalités commerciales usuelles sauf en ce qui concerne les services déjà énumérés qui sont offerts gratuitement.

9. Crédits parlementaires

Le BSGG est financé par des crédits parlementaires du gouvernement du Canada, fondés dans une large mesure sur les besoins de trésorerie. Il est possible que les postes consignés à l'état des résultats d'un exercice soient financés par les crédits parlementaires des exercices antérieurs ou ultérieurs. Ainsi, le BSGG présente un état des résultats pour l'exercice déterminés à partir du financement du gouvernement qui est différent de celui qui serait présenté selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus. Les différences sont rapprochées comme suit :

(a) Rapprochement entre les coûts de fonctionnement nets et les crédits

  2005   2004
    (dollars)  
Coûts de fonctionnement nets 18 210 056   19 197 571
Rajustements      
Postes avec incidence sur les résultats nets et sans      
incidence sur les crédits      
Moins : Charges sans incidence sur les crédits      
Médailles et cadeaux officiels distribués 282 858   272 445
Congés payés accumulés par les employés 63 885   172 805
Amortissement 162 310   113 648
Stocks utilizes 84 411   74 241
Honoraires juridiques du ministère de la Justice 855   810
  594 319   633 949
       
Plus : Recettes sans incidence sur les crédits 195 170   148 774
  17 810 907   18 712 396
       
Postes sans incidence sur les résultats nets et avec incidence sur les crédits      
Plus : Achat de médailles et de cadeaux officiels 190 292   307 424
Achat d'immobilisations 168 773   147 948
Paiements de congés aux employés 115 634   104 447
Achat de marchandises pour la boutique de souvenirs 72 788   60 844
Avances versées aux employés -   (1 000)
  547 487   619 663
       
Total des crédits parlementaires utilisés 18 358 394   19 332 059
 

(b) Crédits parlementaires consentis et utilisés

  Crédits consentis Crédits utilisés
  2005 2004 2005 2004
  (dollars)
Dépenses de programme 16 296 900 17 151 001 16 060 915 17 062 782
Montants statutaires 2 297 479 2 269 586 2 297 479 2 269 277
         
Total 18 594 379 19 420 587 18 358 394 19 332 059
Mise à jour : 2018-03-26
Avis importants
haut de la page
haut de la page