www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Governor General of Canada / Gouverneur général du Canadaa
Print

 


 

 

Overview of the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General

The Office of the Secretary to the Governor General (OSGG), created in 1947 through letters patent, supports the governor general in delivering his or her mandate and in fulfilling his or her constitutional, State, ceremonial and other responsibilities.

The Office is also responsible for planning and implementing the governor general's program and the many activities that he or she undertakes with, and on behalf of, Canadians in communities across the country and abroad, as well as with the Canadian Forces as their commander-in-chief.

To help Canadians understand the roles and responsibilities of the governor general and how he or she fulfills them, the Office offers a public information program and extensive visitor and interpretation programs at the governor general's historic official residences at Rideau Hall in Ottawa and at the Citadelle in Quebec City.

The administration of the Canadian honours system also forms an important part of the responsibilities of the Office.

The secretary to the governor general is the senior official in the Office and, in addition to having overall responsibility for all aspects of the management and operations of the OSGG, acts as the senior advisor to the governor general. The secretary is also responsible for all aspects of the viceregal program, from planning to implementation.

The OSGG is structured into three branches, which report to the secretary to the governor general in his or her capacity as the deputy head, with the prime minister as its minister responsible to Parliament. An organizational chart is reflected in Figure 1.

Figure 1 – Organization Chart as of March 31, 2006

Office of the Secretary to the Governor General

Figure 1 – Organization Chart as at March 31, 2006

The OSGG receives funding through parliamentary appropriations for expenses incurred during the fiscal year. For 2005-2006, expenses incurred amounted to $20,199,690, made up of $9,676,867 for the constitutional, State, ceremonial and public programs, $3,258,779 for the Canadian honours program, $4,744,479 for corporate management, and $2,519,565 for statutory expenditures (Appendix A).

B. Support from Other Government Departments
In addition to the support provided by the OSGG, six other federal government departments and agencies are also mandated to support the activities of the Governor General, as follows:

  • The Department of National Defence (DND) provides support to the Governor General through logistical support and transportation for the Head of State (similar to the support provided to the Prime Minister);
  • The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) provides support in matters related to security and personal protection services to the Governor General and spouse, domestically and abroad (similar to the support provided to the Prime Minister);
  • The National Capital Commission (NCC) is responsible for the preservation, maintenance and capital construction projects for all the official residences located in the National Capital Region;
  • Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (DFAIT) advises the Governor General on all matters related to foreign policy and funds incoming State visits as well as the Governor General’s international program and activities undertaken at the request of the Prime Minister;
  • Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) provides the OSGG with support for La Citadelle in Quebec City and accommodation for the Chancellery of Canadian Honours, as well as services such as those of the Receiver General;
  • The OSGG also works closely with other agencies such as Canadian Heritage (CH) which is the lead department for related activities such as Royal visits, State funerals, national memorial services and special anniversary celebrations.

These departments and agencies provide this support to the governor general as part of their statutory responsibility, and seek funds to fulfill these responsibilities as part of their own Appropriations. In 2005-06, support provided by these six departments and agencies totalled $16 million (see Figure 2). These funds are sought and spent directly by these government departments and agencies concerned and are not transferred to the budget of the OSGG.

Figure 2 – Support from other government departments*

DND 1 RCMP NCC DFAIT PWGSC CH 2
$4.6 $3.6 $4.4 $0.9 $1.2 $1.3

* All dollar figures are in millions

  1. The increase in the cost of support provided to the OSGG by DND ($2.6M in 2004-2005 versus $4.6M in 2005-2006) is a result of the new methodology in costing on behalf of DND. Certain aircraft and aircrew costs had not been included in the costing analysis in previous year's reports.
  2. The costs borne by Canadian Heritage in support of the OSGG are a result of the transition between governors general (i.e. costs associated with the installation of the new governor general).
    The OSGG's 2005-2006 financial statements (Appendix B) reflect some services provided without charge by other government departments (whereas previous statements did not include these figures).
Updated: 2018-03-26
Important Notices
top of page
top of page

www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Gouverneur général du Canada / Governor General of Canada
Imprimer

 


 

 

Vue d’ensemble du Bureau du
secrétaire du gouverneur général

Le Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général (BSGG), créé en 1947 par lettres patentes, aide le gouverneur général à remplir son mandat et à s’acquitter de ses responsabilités constitutionnelles, d’État, cérémonielles et autres.

Le Bureau est également chargé de planifier et de mettre en œuvre le programme et les nombreuses activités menées par le gouverneur général avec les Canadiennes et les Canadiens ou en leur nom, tant dans les collectivités à l’échelle du pays qu’à l’étranger, de même que ses activités en tant que commandant en chef des Forces canadiennes.

Pour aider les Canadiennes et les Canadiens à comprendre les rôles et les responsabilités du gouverneur général et comment ils s’exercent, le Bureau offre un programme d’information publique ainsi que des programmes de visites guidées et d’interprétation aux deux résidences officielles du gouverneur général, soit Rideau Hall à Ottawa et la Citadelle à Québec.

L’administration du régime canadien de distinctions honorifiques constitue aussi une partie importante des responsabilités du Bureau.

Le secrétaire du gouverneur général est le cadre supérieur du Bureau. En plus d’être responsable de tous les aspects de la gestion et des opérations du BSGG, le secrétaire agit en tant que conseiller principal du gouverneur général. Le secrétaire est également responsable de tous les aspects du programme vice-royal, allant de la planification jusqu’à sa mise en œuvre.

La structure du BSGG comprend trois directions générales qui relèvent du secrétaire du gouverneur général en sa qualité de sous-chef. Le premier ministre est responsable du Bureau devant le Parlement. Un organigramme est présenté au tableau 1.

Tableau 1 – Organigramme en date du 31 mars 2006

Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général

Tableau organisationnel 

Le BSGG reçoit des fonds au moyen de crédits parlementaires pour les dépenses engagées au cours de l’exercice financier. Pour 2005-2006, les dépenses engagées ont été de 20 199 690 $, soit  9 676 867 $ pour les programmes relatifs aux rôles constitutionnel et de chef d’État, aux cérémonies et aux activités publiques, 3 258 779 $ pour le programme des distinctions honorifiques canadiennes, 4 744 479 $ pour la gestion ministérielle, et 2 519 565 $ pour les dépenses législatives (annexe A).

Appui de la part d’autres ministères du gouvernement

Outre l’appui du Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général, six autres ministères et organismes du gouvernement fédéral sont mandatés à appuyer les activités du gouverneur général, à savoir :

La Défense nationale (MDN) offre un appui logistique et des services de transport au gouverneur général en sa qualité de chef d’État (appui similaire à celui offert au premier ministre);

La Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) fournit au gouverneur général et à son conjoint des services de sécurité et de protection personnelle au pays et à l’étranger (comme pour le premier ministre);

La Commission de la capitale nationale (CCN) est responsable des projets de préservation, d’entretien, de construction et d’immobilisations pour toutes les résidences officielles situées dans la région de la capitale nationale;

Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada (MAECI) conseille le gouverneur général sur les questions de politique étrangère et défraye les dépenses associées aux visites officielles de dignitaires étrangers ainsi que celles qui découlent du programme international du gouverneur général ou de ses activités menées à la demande du premier ministre;

Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) fournit au BSGG un soutien pour la Citadelle de Québec et les installations de la Chancellerie des distinctions honorifiques canadiennes, de même que certains services du Receveur général;

Le BSGG travaille également en étroite collaboration avec d’autres ministères tels que celui du Patrimoine canadien (PC), ministère responsable des activités comme les visites royales, les funérailles nationales, les services commémoratifs nationaux et les célébrations d’anniversaires spéciaux.

Ces ministères et organismes fournissent ce soutien au gouverneur général dans le cadre de leurs responsabilités législatives et assument ces responsabilités à même leurs crdits parlementaires. En 2005-06, le soutien fourni par ces six ministères et organismes s’est élevé à 16 million de dollars (voir le tableau 2). Ces fonds sont demandés et dépensés directement par les autres ministères ou organismes gouvernementaux et ne sont pas transférés au budget du BSGG.

Tableau 2 - Appui d’autres ministères fédéraux*

MDN1

GRC

CCN

MAECI

TPSGC

PC2

4,6 $

3,6 $

4,4 $

0,9 $

1,2 $

1,3 $

* Tous les chiffres sont en millions de dollars

  1. L’augmentation du coût de l’appui fourni au BSGG par le MDN (2,6 millions de dollars en 2004-2005 par rapport à 4,6 millions de dollars en 2005-2006) est le résultat de la nouvelle méthode d’établissement des coûts de la part du MDN. Certains coûts liés aux aéronefs et aux équipages n’avaient pas été inclus dans l’analyse des coûts dans les rapports des années antérieures.
  2. Les coûts assumés par Patrimoine canadien pour appuyer le BSGG résultent de la transition d’une gouverneure générale à l’autre (c’est‑à‑dire les coûts associés à l’ installation de la nouvelle gouverneure générale).
    Les états financiers du BSGG pour l’exercice 2005-2006 (annexe B) reflètent certains services qui ont été fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères (alors que ces chiffres ne figuraient pas dans les états financiers antérieurs).
Mise à jour : 2018-03-26
Avis importants
haut de la page
haut de la page