www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Governor General of Canada / Gouverneur général du Canadaa
Print

 


 

 

Annual Report 2005-2006

Message from the Secretary to the Governor General
and Herald Chancellor

It is a pleasure for me to invite Canadians to review the third annual report by the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General (OSGG).

The OSGG exists to support the governor general and commander-in-chief in carrying out his or her constitutional and State duties and an active program aimed at highlighting the evolving nature of Canadian society and the contributions and achievements of our fellow citizens.

The primary constitutional duty of the governor general is to ensure the continuation of government and that Canada always has a prime minister. On February 6, 2006, following the January 23 general election, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean swore in the new prime minister, the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, and his cabinet.

The fiscal year under review, 2005-2006, was singular in that it marked the transition from one governor general to another. On September 27, 2005, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean was sworn in as Canada’s 27th governor general and commander-in-chief, following the six‑year mandate of Her Excellency the Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson.

The OSGG’s annual report outlines how the governor general serves Canadians every day. It describes key activities and their cost, as well as their value to Canadians. It also details the governor general’s salary and the administrative costs of the Office.

The OSGG is grateful to those government departments and agencies that support the governor general through their legislated mandates, including the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, which provides protective services to Their Excellencies; the National Capital Commission, which maintains the residence and grounds of Rideau Hall; Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, which supports the governor general’s international activities; and the Department of National Defence, which supports the governor general in the role of commander-in-chief.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Office’s staff for their professionalism, dedication, and commitment to excellence.

Sheila-Marie Cook

Updated: 2018-03-26
Important Notices
top of page
top of page

www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Gouverneur général du Canada / Governor General of Canada
Imprimer

 


 

 

Rapport annuel 2005-2006

Message de la secrétaire du gouverneur général
et chancelière d’armes

C’est avec plaisir que j’invite les Canadiennes et les Canadiens à jeter un coup d’œil au troisième rapport annuel du Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général (BSGG).

Le BSGG a pour mandat d’appuyer le gouverneur général et commandant en chef du Canada dans l’exercice de ses fonctions constitutionnelles et de chef d’État et dans ses activités visant à mettre en relief l’évolution de la société canadienne et à souligner l’apport et les réalisations de nos concitoyennes et concitoyens.

La principale tâche constitutionnelle du gouverneur général est d’assurer la continuité du gouvernement et la présence d’un premier ministre pour diriger le Canada. Le 6 février 2006, après l’élection générale du 23 janvier, la très honorable Michaëlle Jean a assermenté le nouveau premier ministre, le très honorable Stephen Harper, ainsi que les membres de son cabinet.

Au cours de l’exercice financier 2005-2006, deux personnes ont successivement assuré la charge de gouverneur général. Le 27 septembre 2005, Son Excellence la très honorable Michaëlle Jean a été assermentée à titre de 27e gouverneure générale du Canada et de commandante en chef, succédant ainsi à Son Excellence la très honorable Adrienne Clarkson, dont le mandat s’était échelonné sur six ans.

Le rapport annuel du BSGG illustre comment le gouverneur général sert les Canadiennes et les Canadiens au jour le jour. Il décrit les principales activités et leur coût, et ce qu’en retire la population. Il offre également des renseignements sur le salaire du gouverneur général et sur les coûts administratifs du Bureau. 

Le BSGG remercie les ministères et les organismes fédéraux qui appuient le gouverneur général dans le cadre de leur mandat législatif respectif, notamment la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, qui offre des services de protection à Leurs Excellences; la Commission de la capitale nationale, qui entretient la résidence et le domaine de Rideau Hall; Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada, qui appuie les activités du gouverneur général sur la scène internationale; et le ministère de la Défense nationale, qui appuie le gouverneur général dans son rôle de commandant en chef.

Je tiens à remercier le personnel du Bureau pour son professionnalisme, son dévouement et son engagement à l’égard de l’excellence.

Sheila-Marie Cook

Mise à jour : 2018-03-26
Avis importants
haut de la page
haut de la page