www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Governor General of Canada / Gouverneur général du Canadaa
Print

 


Rideau Hall

 

Thomas MacKay built the stone villa, which forms the main part of the present official residence, in 1838, as a home for his family. MacKay was a stonemason and contractor who built the entrance locks of the Rideau Canal and the mills at Rideau Falls. Rideau Hall is named for these landmarks and has been home to every governor general since Confederation. Period photographs show it as a rectangular, three-storey stone villa with a semi-circular facade on the garden.

In 1865, the house was leased to the Canadian government as a residence for Lord Monck, the 21st governor general of British North America who became Canada's 1st governor general. Bytown had been renamed Ottawa and chosen by Queen Victoria as the new capital of the province of Canada. That same year, Lord Monck added a long two-storey wing that was meant to resemble his beloved Quebec City residence, Spencer Wood (renamed Bois-de-Coulonge in 1950). Lord Monck also laid out the handsome path that leads to the house.

In 1868, the year after Confederation, the Government of Canada purchased the house and grounds for $82,000 as an official residence for Canada's governors general. In the time of Canada's third Governor General, Lord Dufferin (1872-1878), the Ballroom and the Tent Room were built as wings on either side of the front entrance. The Tent Room was originally designed as both an indoor tennis court and reception room. It is now used for official and ceremonial functions.

The Minto Wing was added in 1899 to supply more living space. The governor general's study, with its window overlooking the gardens, was built in 1906 during the mandate of Lord Grey.

Many changes were made during the tenure of the Duke of Connaught (1911-1916). In 1913, work was completed on the interior entrance hall and the present front entrance. The massive motif of the Royal Arms visible from the driveway, is said to be one of the largest in the world. Also in 1913, the Long Gallery was added and the Dining Room enlarged. Concerned about the lack of sunlight in the residence, the Duke had many of the fir trees on the grounds replaced with maples and other species.

Over the years, various changes have been made to the stately old building to meet the demands of modern times, including media and security requirements. The grounds, the building and its interiors have also evolved to better reflect and reinforce Rideau Hall's identity as Canada's national home. Over the years, an increasing emphasis on showcasing fine Canadian art, furniture, food and wine have contributed to a truly Canadian environment where Canadians are honoured, dignitaries are welcomed and affairs of State are conducted.

The Queen, other royal visitors and foreign heads of State stay at Rideau Hall when they visit Ottawa. Many have planted trees on the 32-hectare (79-acre) grounds, which include other historic outbuildings, gardens, greenhouses, woods, tennis courts and a cricket pitch.

Rideau Hall is the historic home and workplace of the governor general. It is open to the public year round and offers various activities such as guided tours of the residence and the grounds. As many as 200 000 people come to Rideau Hall every year to tour the grounds and the residence or to take part in official events.

Updated: 2019-03-28
Important Notices
top of page
top of page

www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Gouverneur général du Canada / Governor General of Canada
Imprimer

 


Rideau Hall

 

Thomas MacKay, maon et entrepreneur des travaux de construction des cluses l'entre du canal Rideau et des scieries prs des chutes Rideau, est celui qui a construit la villa en 1838 pour y loger sa famille. Sur les photos de l'poque, elle apparat comme une villa de pierre de trois tages, de forme rectangulaire, dont la faade arque donnait sur le jardin. Aujourd'hui, elle constitue la partie principale de Rideau Hall, rsidence officielle de tous les gouverneurs gnraux depuis la Confdration.

En 1865, le gouvernement canadien a lou cette demeure pour lord Monck, 21e gouverneur gnral de l'Amrique du Nord britannique, puis 1er gouverneur gnral du Canada. La ville de Bytown, devenue Ottawa, avait t choisie par la reine Victoria comme nouvelle capitale de la province du Canada. La mme anne, lord Monck a fait construire une longue aile deux tages, sur le modle de Spencer Wood (devenu Bois-de-Coulonge en 1950), sa rsidence de Qubec. C'est galement lui qui a fait tracer l'alle majestueuse menant la rsidence.

En 1868, l'anne aprs la Confdration, le gouvernement a achet le domaine au cot de 82 000 $ pour en faire la rsidence officielle des gouverneurs gnraux du Canada. l'poque de lord Dufferin (1872-1878), troisime gouverneur gnral du Canada, on a construit deux ailes, de part et d'autre de l'entre principale actuelle, pour y amnager la Salle de bal et la Salle de la Tente. Cette dernire avait t conue pour servir la fois de court de tennis intrieur et de salle de rception. Aujourd'hui, elle est utilise pour la tenue d'activits officielles et crmonielles.

En 1899, l'addition de l'aile Minto, l'arrire, a permis d'agrandir l'espace habitable. Le cabinet de travail du gouverneur gnral, dont les fentres ouvrent sur le jardin, a t construit en 1906 pendant le mandat de lord Grey.

De nombreux changements ont t apports Rideau Hall au cours du mandat du duc de Connaught (1911-1916). L'dification de la faade ouest actuelle et du Hall d'entre a t acheve en 1913. Les imposantes armoiries royales qui attirent le regard lorsqu'on remonte l'alle compteraient parmi les plus grandes au monde. C'est galement en 1913 que l'on a construit le Grand salon et agrandi la Salle manger. Trouvant les terrains trop sombres, le duc a fait remplacer beaucoup de conifres par des rables et autres espces.

Au fil des ans, diverses autres modifications ont t apportes cette grandiose demeure afin de satisfaire les exigences modernes, notamment en ce qui a trait aux mdias et la scurit. Le domaine, le btiment et l'intrieur de la rsidence mme ont galement volu pour mieux reflter et renforcer l'identit de Rideau Hall en tant que rsidence nationale des Canadiennes et des Canadiens. Au fil du temps, l'accent a t mis de plus en plus sur la canadianisation des uvres d'art et du mobilier qui ornent Rideau Hall ainsi que des mets et des vins qui y sont servis. C'est ainsi que Rideau Hall est devenu un cadre vraiment canadien o sont honors des Canadiennes et des Canadiens, o sont accueillis des dignitaires et o sont menes les affaires de l'tat.

La Reine ainsi que d'autres membres de familles royales et des chefs d'tat trangers sjournent Rideau Hall lorsqu'ils visitent Ottawa. De nombreuses personnalits ont plant des arbres dans les 32 hectares (79 acres) du domaine, qui comprend des dpendances, qui sont aussi des btiments historiques, tels les jardins, les serres, les courts de tennis et le terrain de cricket.

Rideau Hall est la rsidence historique et le lieu de travail du gouverneur gnral. Le domaine est ouvert au public toute l'anne et diverses activits y sont offertes, telles que des visites guides de la rsidence et du domaine. Environ 200 000 personnes y viennent chaque anne pour s'y promener et prendre part aux activits officielles qui y sont tenues.

Mise à jour : 2019-03-28
Avis importants
haut de la page
haut de la page