www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Governor General of Canada / Gouverneur général du Canadaa
Print

 


Visit us

 

Exposition temporaire

Strategy and seduction by Canadian artists from culturally diverse communities in works from the collection of the Canada Council Art Bank

This exhibition, presented by the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General in association with the Canada Council Art Bank, will be on display at Rideau Hall from September 21st, 2009 to September 6th, 2010. The exhibition is included in the residence tour and the art tour. Come and discover these telling works of art.

Woman Reading on Bus, Tehran, Iran (2006) Fractured Unity (2008)

Woman Reading on Bus,
Tehran, Iran (2006)
Sanaz Mazinani
Collection of the Canada Council Art Bank
Photo: © Sanaz Mazinani / courtesy of Stephen Bulger Gallery

Fractured Unity (2008)
Sin-Ying Ho
Collection of the Canada Council Art Bank
Photo: courtesy of the artist

Canada is a host country to many artists who have migrated from their ethnic homelands. Autobiographical commentary is one of the strategies they frequently use to communicate a sense of self in an environment of contrasts. The works of the DIASPORArt exhibit are of a particular beauty that seduces by its charm and technique.

Whether of the African, Asian, Middle Eastern or Latin American diaspora, the artists whose works have been chosen from the Canada Council Art Bank collection are not only sharing their sense of self, they are challenging the status quo of Western popular culture and thought as the pre-eminent international cultural force.

Canada Council Art Bank

Updated: 2019-03-28
Important Notices
top of page
top of page

www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Gouverneur général du Canada / Governor General of Canada
Imprimer

 


Visitez-nous

 

Exposition temporaire

Stratégie et séduction des artistes canadiens de diverses communautés culturelles dans des œuvres de la collection de la Banque d’œuvres d’art du Conseil des Arts du Canada

Cette exposition, présentée par le Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général en collaboration avec la Banque d’œuvres d’art du Conseil des Arts du Canada, sera à Rideau Hall du 21 septembre 2009 au 6 septembre 2010. L’exposition est l’un des volets de la visite de la résidence et de la visite des collections. Venez découvrir ces œuvres révélatrices.

Woman Reading on Bus, Tehran, Iran (2006) Fractured Unity (2008)

Woman Reading on Bus,
Tehran, Iran (2006)
Sanaz Mazinani
Collection de la Banque d’œuvres d’art du Conseil des Arts du Canada
Photo: © Sanaz Mazinani / gracieuseté de la Stephen Bulger Gallery

Fractured Unity (2008)
Sin-Ying Ho
Collection de la Banque d’œuvres d’art du Conseil des Arts du Canada
Photo: gracieuseté de l’artiste

Le Canada est une terre d’accueil pour de nombreux créateurs qui ont quitté leur pays natal. Pour ces artistes, le commentaire autobiographique constitue l’une des stratégies fréquemment utilisées pour communiquer une identité singulire dans un environnement de contrastes. Les œuvres de l’exposition DIASPORArt sont d’une beauté particulire, elles séduisent par leur poésie et la technique empreintes de métissage.

Qu’ils appartiennent à la diaspora africaine, asiatique, moyen-orientale ou latino-américaine, les artistes choisis, dont les œuvres ont été tirées de la collection de la Banque d’œuvres d’art du Conseil des Arts du Canada, font plus que partager leur identité propre, ils remettent en question le statu quo de la culture populaire occidentale tel qu’il est pensé et véhiculé par le courant culturel international dominant.

Banque d’œuvres d’art du Conseil des Arts du Canada

Mise à jour : 2019-03-28
Avis importants
haut de la page
haut de la page