www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Governor General of Canada / Gouverneur général du Canadaa
Print

 


Visit us

 

Guides at Rideau Hall

Bet one of them has  your name on it (Guides at Rideau Hall)Are you looking for a unique challenge? Working as a guide-interpreter at Rideau Hall is an exciting and rewarding experience.

Rideau Hall has been the official Ottawa residence and workplace of every governor general of Canada since Confederation. As a guide-interpreter, you will be one of Rideau Hall's front-line ambassadors, and with your colleagues, you will greet up to 200,000 visitors, from members of royal families and heads of State to school children and tourists.

You will interpret the five majestic State rooms of Rideau Hall in both official languages.

Qualifications

To become a Rideau Hall guide-interpreter, you must be a Canadian citizen and bilingual (French and English). A good knowledge of Canadian history is an asset, as is experience in historical interpretation for groups including children and the general public.

How to Apply

If you are a full-time student, please visit the Federal Student Work Experience Program at http://www.jobs-emplois.gc.ca/srp-fswep-pfete/index_e.htm. Please go to the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General and select the Rideau Hall Visitor Services and Interpretation Program (GGS07J-008868-000121). The selection process begins on January 16, 2009. The candidates who have been pre-selected will be invited to attend an interview in February 2009.

  • Only those eligible for an interview will be contacted.
  • A language proficiency test will be administered during the selection process.

“I feel privileged to have been able to surround myself with Canada’s past, present and future. I couldn’t imagine a more fulfilling summer job than working here at Rideau Hall, Canada’s house-it has truly filled this already fiercely proud Canadian with even more delight in her wonderful country.”
— Caitlin Hurcomb, Ottawa, Ontario, Guide-interpreter, 2007

“It was an exciting challenge to work at an institution at the heart of Canadian history alongside dedicated colleagues and visitors from all across the country and around the world. I have grown from this experience and leave it feeling very proud of having made new friends and gained a broader perspective on the world.”
— Marie-Pierre Bélanger, Earlton, Ontario, Guide-interpreter, 2008

“Working at Rideau Hall is a wonderfully well-rounded work experience, one which those who have the good fortune of partaking in, will never forget! Rideau Hall truly is the home for all Canadians…a place to grow in so many ways!”
— Aamir Taiyeb, Mississauga, Ontario, Guide-interpreter, 2007

“My summer at Rideau Hall was a unique way to learn more about people, history, art, and even Canadian botany! But the best part was sharing this new-found knowledge with visitors from all across Canada and the world.”
— Nina Charest, Ottawa, Ontario, Guide-interpreter, 2008

Come join our dynamic and fabulous team! Apply today!

The Governor General and Guides at Rideau Hall

Updated: 2019-03-28
Important Notices
top of page
top of page

www.gg.ca Archives - Archives du www.gg.ca
Gouverneur général du Canada / Governor General of Canada
Imprimer

 


Visitez-nous

 

Guides � Rideau Hall

Et si un de ceux-ci était pour toi? (Guides à Rideau Hall)Êtes-vous à la recherche d'un défi unique? Le travail de guide-interprète à Rideau Hall est une expérience stimulante et enrichissante.

Rideau Hall est la résidence officielle à Ottawa et le lieu de travail de tous les gouverneurs généraux depuis la Confédération. En tant que guide-interprète, vous serez l'un des ambassadeurs de première ligne de Rideau Hall. Avec vos collègues, vous accueillerez jusqu’à 200 000 visiteurs, qu’ils soient des membres de familles royales, chefs d’État, élèves ou touristes.

Interprtez les magnifiques salles de crmonie de Rideau Hall dans les deux langues officielles.

Conditions exiges

Vous devez avoir la citoyennet canadienne et possder dexcellentes comptences en communications orales en franais et en anglais. Une bonne connaissance de l'histoire du Canada est un atout ainsi qu'une exprience de linterprtation de lhistoire auprs des groupes, du grand public y compris les enfants.

Comment postuler

Si vous tes tudiant temps plein : veuillez consulter le site du Programme fdral d'exprience de travail tudiant http://www.jobs-emplois.gc.ca/srp-fswep-pfete/index_f.htm. Allez la rubrique du Bureau du secrtaire du gouverneur gnral et slectionnez le programme des services aux visiteurs et programme dinterprtation Rideau Hall (GGS07J-008868-000121). Le processus de slection commencera le 16 janvier 2009. Les candidats et candidates prslectionns seront convoqus une entrevue en fvrier 2009.

  • Nous communiquerons seulement avec les candidats slectionns pour une entrevue.
  • Un test de langue sera administr lors du processus dembauche.

« Je considre comme un privilge cette immersion dans le pass, le prsent et le futur du Canada. Je ne peux imaginer un travail dt plus enrichissant quun emploi Rideau Hall, la rsidence du Canada; la fire Canadienne que jtais dj est plus enchante que jamais de son merveilleux pays! »
— Caitlin Hurcomb, Ottawa (Ontario)
guide-interprte, 2007

« Jai su remonter un dfi de taille en travaillant au cur de lhistoire canadienne en compagnie de collgues dvous et de visiteurs de partout au pays et du monde. Je ressors de cette exprience fire et grandie, avec la certitude davoir de nouveaux amis et une nouvelle perspectives du monde »
— Marie-Pierre Blanger, Earlton, (Ontario), guide-interprte, 2008

« Travailler Rideau hall est une exprience des plus enrichissantes que noublieront jamais celles et ceux qui ont eu la chance de la vivre! Rideau Hall est la vritable rsidence de tous les Canadiensun endroit o lon peut grandir de tant de faon! »
— Aamir Taiyeb, Mississauga (Ontario)
guide-interprte, 2007

« Mon t Rideau Hall fut une exprience unique dapprofondir mes connaissances sur les gens, lhistoire, lart et mme la botanique canadienne. Mais le vrai plaisir, ctait de partager ces connaissances avec des visiteurs venus de partout au Canada et du monde entier. »
— Nina Charest, Ottawa, (Ontario), guide-interprte, 2008

Joignez-vous cette quipe formidable et dynamique ! Postulez ds aujourdhui!

La gouverneure générale et les guides de Rideau Hall

Mise à jour : 2019-03-28
Avis importants
haut de la page
haut de la page